Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Policies: Alumni/Guest Borrower Policy

Guest Borrower Program - General Information

ARE YOU A NEW GRADUATE?

IF YES, YOU'RE ENTITLED TO A FREE ALUMNI CARD FOR THE YEAR!!

CONTACT THE ALUMNI OFFICE FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

 

Library guest borrowers must be at least 18 years old in order to borrow books from Buley Library. All borrowers need to fill out the application form either in person at the Circulation Desk or online. SCSU Alumni should provide their current membership card when requesting guest library privileges. Friends of Buley Library and community borrowers must pay the current membership fee, listed below, before a card is issued. A photo I.D. or other official identification must be presented when applying for a library card. After completing the application, your application will be reviewed and may be granted that day or within 2 working days. Library privileges for SCSU alumni, Friends of Buley Library and community borrowers will be for one year.

Students from the Connecticut Community Colleges System will have library privileges for 1 semester. All students must present their student ID to the Circulation Department. Your guest library privileges may be delayed if the Circulation Department needs to verify your enrollment status.

CCALD participating members must show a current ID from their home college or university for library privileges. Library privileges will be for 1 semester.

All books must be returned on time and all fines paid before library privileges are extended. Lost or damaged books will be charged to you and must be paid before library privileges are granted. Your use of the library card indicates that you agree to follow all Buley Library policies. The library reserves the right to suspend library privileges if policies are not observed. The guest library card is non-transferable.

 

Southern Connecticut State University Alumni/Friends of Buley Library/Community Members

Southern Alumni must present a current alumni card. Friends of Buley Library and community borrowers must present membership information.

SCSU Alumni Association Members

Fee: Must show that you have a current membership in the SCSU Alumni Association.

Contact the Alumni Association for additional information.

Friends of Buley Library/Community Borrowers

Fee: Must join the Friends of Buley Library or become a community borrower with a minimum donation of $35.00. The library will accept only a check or money order.

Library Borrowing Privileges:

  • 10 general circulating books can be checked out, with the option to renew one time
  • Library card is good for an entire year
  • In-house reference assistance

Buley Library Privileges Not Available:

  • Media and Curriculum Collections materials do not circulate
  • CONSULS intralibrary from CCSU, ECSU, WCSU Libraries/ Interlibrary Loans service are not available
  • Access to the library's online databases from off-campus is not available

Students from Connecticut's Community & Technical Colleges

Students from the Connecticut Community College System may apply for a library card for one semester. Upon verification from your college library, along with a current student, you will be given library privileges.

Fee: None

Borrowing Privileges:

  • Limit of 5 general circulating books can be checked out
  • Library card is good for a semester

The Following Library Privileges are not available:

  • Media and Curriculum Collections materials do not circulate
  • CONSULS intralibrary from CCSU, ECSU, WCSU Libraries/ Interlibrary Loans ILL service are not available
  • Access to the library's online databases from off-campus is not available

CCALD Faculty and Staff from Connecticut Colleges

Faculty and staff from colleges and universities participating in the CCALD program are entitled to Buley Library guest privileges. All faculty and staff must present their current college or University I.D. card.

Fee: None

Library Borrowing Privileges:

  • Limit of 3 general circulating books can be checked out
  • Library card is good for a semester


The Following Library Privileges are not available:

  • Media and Curriculum Collections materials do not circulate
  • CONSULS intralibrary from CCSU, ECSU, WCSU Libraries/ Interlibrary Loans ILL service are not available
  • Access to the library's online databases from off-campus is not available

Students from Other Colleges and Universities

Students from other academic institutions should contact their library's Interlibrary Loan Department to request any items available at Buley Library.

For Alumni

Thomson/Reuters, the providers of EndNote Web, require that all users of campus subscriptions log on from "authorized" computers every 12 months. An "authorized" computer is one on campus or one accessing Web of Science through the database login. Since alumni do not have off campus database access (see alumni/guest library privileges), the only alumni access to EndNote Web via an authorized computer is on campus.

If you cannot come to campus, you may wish to investigate a personal copy of the EndNote software, or the services on the Alternatives to EndNote Web tab.

Alumni and the Library

Please see this guide for additional services and suggestions: