Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian Renaissance Art

Borrowing Books and Library Materials

Borrowing Library Materials

  • Your hootloot card functions as your library card
  • A maximum of 50 items can be check out
  • Books circulate for 28 days (Undergraduates) or 120 days (Graduate Students) and can be renewed twice. Library books are subject to recall after 2 weeks.
  • Media (CDs, DVDs, VHS ) circulate for one week

Requests for books from other CSCU libraries are done through the catalog. Select Buley Library as the pick-up location

Return materials at the Circulation/checkout desk or the drop box outside of the library.

Library materials that do not circulate include items in these collections: Reference Collection, Special Collections, Periodicals Collection and the Microfilm/Microfiche Collection

Use SouthernSearch to search for books on topics related to Italian Renaissance Art. Use the limiters on the left to focus your search.

Examples of some recommended titles are listed below. Please note that Buley Library may not own the textbook for your course, (Campbell and Cole's Italian Renaissance Art) however the instructor will usually place a copy of the textbook on reserve at the checkout desk. Use the center pull-down window in SouthernSearch to search for Course Reserves.

Textbooks and Reference Books often include useful "Bibliographies" and "Suggestions for Further Reading" at the end of the book or chapter.

For further reading:

Italian Renaissance Art Painting Sculpture Architecture (Hartt)  REQUEST from CSCU libraries

Italian Renaissance Art (Laurie Adams, 2014) Textbook Collection

History of Italian Renaissance Art by Hartt. Hilton C. Buley Library Oversize stacks / Call Number: N6915.H37 198   ISBN: 0810911639 Publication Date: 1987

Ebooks in the DeGruyter Collection Database

Online texts from the Internet Archive (“Register and borrow; renewable every hour pending availability”)

     Art in Renaissance Italy (Paoletti, 1997)

     After Raphael (Marcia Hall)

     Italian Renaissance Art Painting Sculpture Architecture (Frederick Hartt) 7th edition (2011).

 

CITIES

Art and Life in Renaissance Venice, Brown, Patricia Fortini. Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   N6921.V5B75 1997  

The Art of Renaissance Rome (Partridge) (request from Housatonic CC)

Renaissance Florence (Turner) (request via Interlibrary loan)

Virtue and Magnificence: Art of Italian Renaissance Courts (Cole)

Painting in Renaissance Florence (Franklin) Hilton C. Buley Library  Oversize stacks 3rd floor / Call Number:   ND621.F7 F725 2001  

Art of Papal Rome (Franklin) Request through Interlibrary Loan

Painting in Renaissance Venice (Humphrey)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   ND621.V5 H77 1995  

  • Painting in Renaissance Venice (request from other CSCU libraries)

Old St. Peters Rome

PAINTING

Painting and Experience (Baxandall)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   ND615.B32  

  • Also available by request from other CSCU libraries

Painting in Italy, 1500-1600 (Freedberg)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   ND615.F66 1979  

Also available by request from Gateway Community College

Mannerism (Shearman)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   N6370.S78 1967  

Also available by request

After Raphael (Hall) (request from Interlibrary loan)

Raphael School of Athens (Hall)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   ND623.R2 A76 1997  

Color and Meaning: practice and theory in Renaissance painting

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Oversize stacks / Call Number:   ND170.H3 1991  

Additional search examples:

painting italy 15th century

painting italy 16th century

SCULPTURE

Italian Renaissance Sculpture (Olson) Request through Interlibrary Loan

Looking at Italian Renaissance Sculpture (McHam) Request through Interlibrary Loan

Additional search examples:

SouthernSearch: "Italian Renaissance Sculpture" (limited to books)

Sculpture Italy 15th century

Sculpture Italy 16 century

ARCHITECTURE

Architecture of the Italian Renaissance (Frommel) (by request from CSCU)

Architecture in Italy (Heydenreich and Lotz)

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   NA1115.H4913  

Architecture of the Italian Renaissance (Murray)

Architectural Principles (Wittkower)

Hilton C. Buley Library   Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   NA520.W5 1988

 

PRINTS

The Renaissance Print: 1470-1550. Landau and Parshall,

Hilton C. Buley Library   Oversize stacks / Call Number:   NE441.5.R44 L35 1994

Michael Bury, The Print in Italy 1550-1620 (submit request through Interlibrary Loan)

Sources and Documents

Gilbert, Italian Art 1400-1500.  Hilton C. Buley Library   Oversize stacks / Call Number:   NE441.5.R44 L35 1994  

Klein and Zerner, Italian Art 1500-1600 (request through Interlibrary Loan)