Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Italian Renaissance Art

Reference Sources/Locate Background Information

Buonarroti, Michelangelo (Italian sculptor, painter, and architect, 1475-1564); Porta, Giacomo della (Italian architect and sculptor, born 1532 or 1533, died 1602 or 1604). Palazzo dei Conservatori, principal facade, view from north. constructed 1561-1584 as part of the Piazza del Campidoglio (Capitoline Hill) project, begun ca. 1539, Image: 05/14/2001. Artstor, library.artstor.org/asset/HSAHARA__1113_42403178

Reference Sources (such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries) present an overview of a topic and will also include links and lists of additional sources. Many reference sources are available online, while other paper volumes are located on the first floor in Buley Library and are marked with “Ref” before the call number. Here are some examples of art reference sources online and in print:

Online Resources

Oxford Art Online

Grove Dictionary of Art Online

Oxford Reference includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

ArtStor- Digital Image Library

(Online) Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Hall)

Bibliography of the History of Art 
Indexes/abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs; covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present.

Getty Virtual Library Publications

Print Sources

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Hall) Hilton C. Buley Library  Reference / Call Number:   N7560 .H34 2008

     and Hilton C. Buley Library Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number:   N7560 .H34 197

Renaissance Art: a Topical Dictionary

  • Hilton C. Buley Library   Reference / Call Number:   N6370.E27 1987  

 

Recommended Databases for Art Research

Art & Architecture Complete

Academic Search Premier

JSTOR

(Search the Complete List of Databases A-Z)

  •