Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access to Library Resources
As a member of Southern's teaching faculty, you have access to all the library resources in Buley Library. You will access most of these using your SCSU Net ID and password. There are a few databases that require you to first log in on campus.
You can contact our librarians for assistance, and your students can as well.
You are also welcome to use the library in person. You must have a Hoot Loot card (SCSU's photo ID) to check out materials or use the printers.
Your students also have the same usage privileges. Please note: Our collections are not filtered and may contain material that is not suited to pre-college classroom use. Please carefully and fully review all materials before using them in your classroom to be sure they meet any restrictions imposed by school, community, or state standards.
Need help? Librarians can assist you:
- with identifying and finding specific resources for reading, viewing, etc. (i.e. "Do you have this book?").
- with finding books, articles, videos, and more, on a specific topic, including open access textbooks and open educational resources (i. e. "What does the library have on this topic?")
- by advising on assignments related to library materials (i .e. summarizing readings, writing annotated reference lists, citation practice, students finding their own readings for reference or critique, etc.)
Chat - when a librarian is available, a chat box will pop up when you visit the library webpage.
FAQ's and Email
Contact a Subject Librarian
Searching for Books and Articles
All of our databases can be searched simultaneously at the Southernsearch search box on the home page.
You can also search our databases individually from this list.
For in depth resources in your subject area, follow these links.
Provides access to some of the world's finest productions, unique backstage insights, practitioner interviews and written analysis.
Films on Demand
Over 7,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
National Theatre Collection
National Theatre Collection brings the stage to life through access to high definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Connecticut State Library Digital Collections
The digital collections feature materials from the CT State Library, the Museum of Connecticut History, and the Connecticut State Archives.
Yale Virtual Microscopy: Invertebrate Zoology
Zoom in to microscopic detail with photography and scans of specimens from the Yale Peabody collection.
Visible Body: Anatomy and Physiology
A digital step-by-step introduction to each human body system.
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas
A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body.
Connecticut History Illustrated
Connecticut History Illustrated brings together the Connecticut history-related digital resources of libraries, archives, museums, galleries, historical societies and other cultural heritage institutions in Connecticut.