Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*NEW* OA/OER Searches
George Mason University has launched the Mason OER Metafinder, designed by GMU Librarian Wally Grotophorst, Associate University Librarian for Digital Programs and Systems. It searches a broad range of Open Educational Resource Collections, such as as the Digital Public Library, the Library of Congress American Memory Collection, MERLOT, and College Open Textbooks. Read more about the Metafinder at Deep Web Tech Blog, or try it out below.
Need a particular article, but can't find the full text? Try the Open Access Button search to see if an OA version exists. (If not, try Interlibrary Loan!)
OA versions may include "pre-prints" which do not have final editing and formatting of the published versions. Use at your own discretion.
Search for open access versions of articles via Open Access Button. DOIs, publisher URLs, and PubMed IDs (PMIDs) work best.
What sorts of materials are available?
Many sources have more than one type of document, just as a print
also publish conference papers or technical papers. Be sure to check
categories, especially the General/Mixed Media category.
General/mixed media repositories or guides
Mixed media, megasites, search engines, and guides to further resources.
Audio, Video, & Images
Collections of audio files and streaming audio, video sites, and image collections.
either full open access or open access to back issues.
while many of the open access texts available on the Internet are also public domain, many authors and publishers have released full or partial versions of current works. For some this is an advertising scheme to create demand for print versions, while others are more interested in presenting their content to the widest possible audience. Links to collections of textbooks, theses and dissertations are also included.
slides, tutorials, graphics, etc. Textbooks are listed separately under Books.
What are Open Access resources?
- Open Access refers to resources that are freely available for
use. Open Access is not the same as Public Domain, and most Open
do retain their copyrights.
- Open Access is part of a continuum ranging from completely closed,
only access to completely open, no barrier publishing. Open Access
related to the quality of materials or the
of the publications.
- Open Access differs from Open Source or Open Licensed in that the primary use of
materials will be viewing or reading, while Open Source materials
for modification of the underlying software or text. For instance, Linux
is an open source operating system, while the The
Turkish Online Journal of Distance Education is an open access
journal. An increasing number of Educational Resources are being published with Open Licenses, allowing for modification, re-editing, and other customization.
Why should the Distance Learning, and the general Higher Education, community care about Open Access materials?
- Open Access materials can be excellent resources to supplement
materials. Many scholarly and peer-review journals have opened their
issues as open access, and others have converted partially or
totally to open
access for all issues.
- Open Access materials can often be used when copyright
prevent the use of "traditional" materials in an online setting.
While Open Access materials are, for the most part, still under
by their creators, most academic and educational use is permitted
permission. Even if copying is not permitted, open materials can
linked from an online syllabus or reading list. Be sure to
copyright or permissions statement before use.
- By Educators, For Educators - Many of the Open Access materials
in these pages have been created specifically for educational use.
Ask the Libraries about Open Access and Open Educational Resources
Sciences and Distance Librarian
Further information on Open Access in general
*For medical and bioscience researchers* SPARC Guide to the NIH Public Access Policy
a guide to the policy that NIH funded research be archived in publicly accessible online archives, such as PubMedCentral.
Digital Scholarship Publications Overview
Publications on Scholarly Publishing including Open Access.
Open Access as Humanitarian Aid
Open Access efforts regarding the Japan Earthquake & Tsunami (2011). Peter Suber, SPARC Open Access Newsletter, 4/2/11
Institutional Repository and ETD Bibliography 2011
over 600 English-language articles, books, technical reports, and other works covering institutional repository (IR) country and regional surveys, multiple-institution repositories, specific IRs, IR
digital preservation issues, IR library issues, IR metadata strategies, institutional open access mandates and policies, IR R&D projects, IR research studies, IR open source software, and electronic theses and dissertations.
Assessing the scamminess of a purported open-access publisher | Gavia Libraria
Have you gotten an invitation to submit or review for an open access journal you have never heard of but didn't know how to assess? There are bad publishers in all business models. Here are some things to watch out for.
Cites & Insights: Crawford at Large Jan 2013(PDF)
Starting on page 4 is a very comprehensive summary of the open access field as of the beginning of 2013. Part 2 was published in Feb 2013, starting on page 3
and an update in June 2013
USE-MAN! Copyright Basics for Academic Contexts | Pegasus Librarian
An easily understandable guide to using materials in the classroom.