It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free web collections, books, journals, teaching materials, and other resources. This guide concentrates on English language collections, though some collections mentioned do have resources in several languages.
While many of the open access texts available on the Internet are also public domain, many authors and publishers have released full or partial versions of current works. For some this is an advertising method to create demand for print versions, while others are more interested in presenting their content to the widest possible audience.
The links have been divided into three categories:
lots and lots of books. This site covers most of the large book repositories listed below, including the Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, Google Books, and reports and books from the federal government. The newest books.
Lots and lots of books. This site covers most large book repositories, including the Internet Archive, Project Gutenberg, Google Books, and reports and books from the federal government. The newest books.
The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor (below) for additional searching options.
The collection of a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries, including digitized books and journals. Especially strong in 19th century writings. See BioStor for additional searching options.
Open repository for theses and dissertations from the Open Science Foundation (home of OSF Preprints)
Conference proceedings are awkward and expensive to publish, and generally there is only a small audience. Internet publishing has allowed conference sponsors and authors to present materials at a much lower cost and at the same time reach a wider audience. Note: Even when you find the "full text" of a conference paper, it may be only the abstract as published in the conference program. Contacting the author(s) may be the only way to get more information.
Not all conferences publish any proceedings, and some, especially from large organizations like IEEE (SCSU subscription), publish only in print or online via paid subscriptions. Sometimes doing an Internet search for the author and paper title will turn up an author's site or presentation from a conference.
Books and collections of books written specifically as textbooks. For additional books, please check the subject and general collections. The best source for literature is the Online Books Page from UPenn.
thousands of books and reports by the various National Academies in Washington DC. Look for the Read it Online link to the left of the book descriptions.
NCERT and CBSE collections (see links in description)
Downloadable textbooks from India's National Council of Educational Research and Training. Levels 1-12. Most in English. Available from NoteMonk and Teachoo which also has CBSE (Central Board for Secondary Education) books
completely open and free textbooks on a wide variety of subjects. There are no qualifications for creating/editing, so quality varies considerably, and many books are incomplete. This link is to the English collection, scroll to the bottom of the page for links to collections in other languages, and further Wikimedia projects.
Open textbooks assembled by University Press of Florida and the Orange Grove Digital Repository. Textbooks on all subjects, free to read and download, and available for print on demand ordering of hardcopy versions.
A continuing education guide for information and library professionals (and students) wishing to expand their skills. It's also a work in progress accepting community input. While it's aimed at the information and library science field, the techniques discussed will work for nearly any subject.