Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDU 106: Finding Books

This is a course guide for Professor Mary Brown's EDU 106 class.

SouthernSearch

Use SouthernSearch to locate information in our library. SouthernSearch provides simple one-stop searching for books, e-books, journal articles, videos, digital media, and more.

Enter your search terms in the box provided and click on "Search". The default is to search everything at SCSU but you can choose other options by clicking on the down arrow and making your selection. You can search the SCSU catalog for books, articles/ebooks, course reserves, and you can also search all the other CSCU libraries.

Finding Books

Search demo

Below is a screenshot of a search for "Obama and speeches". To find an encyclopedia on art, type "art encylopedia" in the search box. To locate an encyclopedia on inventions, type "inventions encyclopedia".

 

Advanced Search

For the most part, basic searches will retrieve the results you need. Use Advanced Search for more search options to limit or focus your search. Advanced Search presents limiters and expanders to help refine your search. The advanced search option, for instance, allows you to combine multiple search terms with "and" or "or" for more effective searches.
Example: Facebook and (privacy or security or identity theft)

The advanced search option allows you to limit your search by date, by format, and by language.

Search Strategy Builder

 Search Strategy Builder


The Search Strategy Builder is a tool designed to teach you how to create a search string using Boolean logic. While it is not a database and is not designed to input a search, you should be able to cut and paste the results into most databases’ search boxes.

  Concept 1 AND Concept 2 AND Concept 3
Name your concepts here (Keywords)    
Search terms Search terms Search terms
List alternate terms for each concept.

These can be synonyms, or they can be specific examples of the concept.

Use single words or short phrases. Surrounding the phrases with quotation marks will give better results in some databases and search engines, like Google Scholar. Example: "global warming"

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

or

Now copy and paste the above Search String into Southern Search!

The Search Strategy Builder was developed by the University of Arizona Libraries and is used under a Creative Commons License, via Mandy Swygart-Hobaugh at Georgia State.

Where to find books for your assignment

Note: Books on Art are shelved in the "N" section. Books on Architecture are in the NA section and books on photography are in the TR section. Check the Reference collection on the main floor, the regular stacks, and the Oversized collection on the third floor for books in these subject areas. Oversized books generally have a lot of photographs and illustrations. A good source for speeches is "Vital Speeches of the Day", a publication that is available full-text via the EBSCOhost History Reference Center and EBSCOhost Master File databases from 1934 on. Type "moments in history" to find books on important historical moments.

Books placed on Reserves are at the Check-out Desk.

Checking Out Books

Circulating books are checked out at the Check-out Counter on the main floor with a valid SCSU ID. Books can be checked out for 28 days with the option to have them renewed if no one else has requested them. Reference books cannot be checked out.

Requesting books from another library

To request a book from another library in the CSCU consortium, you must search the CSCU consortium by selecting "CT State Colleges and Universities" from the pull-down menu in the search box as the default is to search "Everything at SCSU". Enter your search terms and execute your search. Once the results list appears, you need to sign in to your library account to see which library has the book. You will see the name of the library that has the book and "available" if the book is available to be loaned. Click on "available" and you will see more information about the book and option to "request" the book. Click on "Request". Check to see that the pick-up institution is  Southern Connecticut State University and the library is Hilton C. Library. Click on request to complete the transaction. You will be notified by email when the book is here and you can pick up your book at the Check-out Desk.

For additional help requesting a book from another CSCU library, please watch this video:

https://www.screencast.com/t/NlEeckTKlfR