Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

TSL503: Second Language Acquisition

This guide displays tools for students in TSL503 to complete assignments in their course. The guide gives search strategies for using Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), other databases, and resources in the library.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

LLBA is a good starting point for your research in this class because it will help you get an idea of how many peer reviewed journal articles are available in your topic since it's a topical database that searches the disciplines of Languages and Linguistics.  Start by typing a basic keyword search in the search box and check the box for "peer reviewed" before clicking on the search icon.  As you type your keyword search, the database gives you other keyword search possibilities that you may decide to click on.

 

 

 

You can skim the results, or if you have too many "hits", you may want to add more keywords to your search to narrow down your topic.  You can also adjust the facets on the left side of the screen to narrow the results down to journal articles, specific date ranges, etc. If you are having trouble formulating a search, try the search strategy builder link on the left menu of this guide.  You can also click on "advanced search" for a more guided menu that helps you visualize keyword boolean searches.

 

As you look through the citations, you can click on the titles to open the records to see the full abstract. If you are ready to read the article, look for the "access full text" link. If the full text option is not shown and you would like to find the article, you can click on . This will open a new page for Southern's Journal Finder.  Sometimes the icon doesn't appear in the result list.  If you don't see it, open the record for the article and you will see it there.

 

The Journal Finder will open in a new tab. Click on the computer icon to see if it is available online and the print icon to see if it is available in print. After you click on one of the icons, you will see the date ranges that are available in the library databases. Find the database that has the date corresponding to your article and you should be able to directly click on the article or you may have to click on the date/issue number of the the article on the screen depending on which database you are directed to. If the journal locator says your article is not available in the library, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.