This page will help you find sources on the topic of Meteorology.
While you will use the same databases as listed on the Journal Articles page, this page will list specific resources, such as journals and books, that can help you explore this topic further.
Subject Search for Meteorology at SCSU
Call number for books on Meteorology: QC851-999
Atmospheric Rivers by
This book is the standard reference based on roughly 20 years of research on atmospheric rivers, emphasizing progress made on key research and applications questions and remaining knowledge gaps. The book presents the history of atmospheric-rivers research, the current state of scientific knowledge, tools, and policy-relevant (science-informed) problems that lend themselves to real-world application of the research--and how the topic fits into larger national and global contexts. This book is written by a global team of authors who have conducted and published the majority of critical research on atmospheric rivers over the past years. The book is intended to benefit practitioners in the fields of meteorology, hydrology and related disciplines, including students as well as senior researchers.
Fundamentals of Meteorology by
This book is dedicated to the atmosphere of our planet, and discusses historical and contemporary achievements in meteorological science and technology for the betterment of society. The book explores many significant atmospheric phenomena and physical processes from the local to global scale, as well as from the perspective of short and long-term time scales, and links these processes to various applications in other scientific disciplines with linkages to meteorology. In addition to addressing general topics such as climate system dynamics and climate change, the book also discusses atmospheric boundary layer, atmospheric waves, atmospheric chemistry, optics/photometeors, electricity, atmospheric modeling and numeric weather prediction. Through its interdisciplinary approach, the book will be of interest to researchers, students and academics in meteorology and atmospheric science, environmental physics, climate change dynamics, air pollution and human health impacts of atmospheric aerosols.
Handbook of Meteorology by
The Handbook of Meteorology gives specialists and non-specialists alike a clear understanding of the way our weather functions. It provides scientific answers to questions that arise when looking at the world around us. It starts with the basics of weather--temperature, pressure, humidity, and wind--before moving on to cover highs, lows, fronts, and storms, and finally ending with a look at weather forecasts, cloud watching, weather tools, and much more. The Handbook of Meteorology provides a condensed but all-inclusive broad sweep of meteorology, employing several illustrations to translate detailed technical information into terms that everyone can follow and readily refer to. It is a comprehensive reference for any budding meteorologist or environmental professional in the field, laboratory, or classroom.
Mapping and Modeling Weather and Climate with GIS by
Mapping and Modeling Weather and Climate with GIS is a contributed volume of 23 chapters from leading climatologists, meteorologists, and other experts about how geospatial cartography and analysis helps to advance atmospheric science research. Coverage includes data and software resources, data representation, observations, modeling, data-model integration, web services, and the areas of current and potential cross-fertilization of atmospheric and geospatial sciences. Providing both the concepts and practices of mapping and modeling projects, the book is useful to novices using GIS on weather and climate projects. Practitioners and managers will gain a clear picture of the advances in GIS for atmospheric sciences and appreciate the helpful lists of available geospatial resources.
Meteorology and Climatology of the Mediterranean and Black Seas by
The Mediterranean Sea, as a "centre" of the ancient world, has been early recognized as a laboratory basin for a variety of atmospheric, ocean and climate studies. Its uniqueness is manifested in its geographical position, a mid-latitude region connecting three continents, orography that affects cyclogenesis, precipitation and winds, ocean bathymetry that is shaped by narrow and shallow straits, passages and sills, and other. Its both atmospheric and oceanic climate is distinctive and, while differing substantially from neighbouring continents and oceans, it strongly interferes and shapes their properties. One of such adjacent basins is the Black Sea, which is, albeit minor in quantity, providing a noteworthy impact to the Mediterranean and vice versa. This topical volume of Pure and Applied Geophysics is presenting recent investigations of atmospheric and ocean properties, processes and climate of both basins, being inspired by presentations given in the Joint Congress of the 6th International Conference on Meteorology and Climatology of the Mediterranean & Challenges in Meteorology 5, held in Zagreb, Croatia, on 20-22 February 2017. The volume comprises 22 papers that are classified in three research categories: (1) storms, extremes and mesoscale processes, (2) atmospheric climate, variability and climate change, and (3) ocean climate and variability. The papers investigate processes occurring over a variety of spatial and temporal scales, from hemispheric processes that drive the observed changes in the Mediterranean and Black Sea, through phenomena that are influencing the whole basin or its sub-basins, to local and mesoscale extreme events that are affecting large cities and local populations in the region. The volume is of interest to atmospheric and oceanic researchers involved in a variety of processes that are occurring over the Mediterranean and Black Sea region. This particularly refers to young researchers and PhD students that are yet to enter to research of this unique and exciting region full of challenges that need an interdisciplinary, innovative and state-of-the-art approaches in solving actual research problems.
Weather Prediction: What Everyone Needs to Know by
Weather has always affected human life. Understanding how weather events form and predicting what kind of weather is coming can help enormously to manage weather-risk and will become even more important as we shift towards strongly weather-dependent energy sources. Some big steps forward in numerical weather prediction have been made in the past 40 years, thanks to advances in four key areas: the way we observe the Earth, the scientific understanding of the phenomena, advances in high-performance computing (that have allowed the use of increasingly complex models), and improved modelling techniques. Today we are capable of predicting extreme events such as hurricanes and extra-tropical windstorms very accurately up to 7 to 10 days ahead. We can predict the most likely path and intensity of storms before they hit a community, estimate the confidence level of the forecast, and can give very valuable indications of their probable impact. Larger-scale phenomena that affect entire countries, such as heat or cold waves, periods with extremely high or low temperatures lasting for days, can be forecast up to 2-to-3 weeks before the events occur. Phenomena that affect a big portion of the oceans or of a continent and that evolve slowly, such as the warming of the sea-surface temperature in the Pacific Ocean when an El Nino event occurs, can be predicted months ahead, and in some cases even longer. Weather Prediction: What Everyone Needs to Know® discusses some of the key topics linked to weather prediction and explains how we got here. It discusses questions that are often asked, such as: how are weather forecasts generated? How complex are the models used in numerical weather prediction, and how to solve them? Was this event predictable? Why was this forecast wrong? How did you manage to predict this hurricane path 10 days before the event? Will weather forecast continue to improve, or is there a predictability limit?