This page will help you find sources on the topic of Geology.
While you will use the same databases as listed on the Journal Articles page, this page will list specific resources, such as journals and books, that can help you explore this topic further.
Subject search for Geology at SCSU
Call number for books on Geology: QE1-996.5
Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology by
This volume addresses the multi-disciplinary topic of engineering geology and the environment, one of the fastest growing, most relevant and applied fields of research and study within the geosciences. It covers the fundamentals of geology and engineering where the two fields overlap and, in addition, highlights specialized topics that address principles, concepts and paradigms of the discipline, including operational terms, materials, tools, techniques and methods as well as processes, procedures and implications. A number of well known and respected international experts contributed to this authoritative volume, thereby ensuring proper geographic representation, professional credibility and reliability. This superb volume provides a dependable and ready source of information on approximately 300 topical entries relevant to all aspects of engineering geology. Extensive illustrations, figures, images, tables and detailed bibliographic citations ensure that the comprehensively defined contributions are broadly and clearly explained. The Encyclopedia of Engineering Geology provides a ready source of reference for several fields of study and practice including civil engineers, geologists, physical geographers, architects, hazards specialists, hydrologists, geotechnicians, geophysicists, geomorphologists, planners, resource explorers, and many others. As a key library reference, this book is an essential technical source for undergraduate and graduate students in their research. Teachers/professors can rely on it as the final authority and the first source of reference on engineering geology related studies as it provides an exceptional resource to train and educate the next generation of practitioners.
Framboids by
Framboids may be the most astonishing and abundant natural features you've never heard of. These microscopic spherules of golden pyrite consist of thousands of even smaller microcrystals, often arranged in stunning geometric arrays. They are rarely more than twenty micrometers across, andoften look like miniscule raspberries under the microscope.The formation of a framboid is the result of self-assembly of pyrite micro- and nano-crystals under the influence of surface forces. They can be found all around us in rocks of all ages and present-day sediments, soils, and natural waters. Our planet makes billions every second and has been doing sofor most of recorded geologic time. As a result, there are more framboids on our planet than there are sand grains on Earth or stars in the observable universe.The microscopic size of framboids belies their importance to contemporary science. They help us better understand inorganic self-assembly and self-organization, and studying them illuminates Earth's evolutionary history.In this book, David Rickard explains what framboids are, how they are formed, and what we can learn from them. The book's thirteen chapters trace everything from their basic attributes and mineralogy to their biogeochemistry and paleoenvironmental significance. Rickard expands on the most updatedresearch and recent developments in geology, chemistry, biology, materials science, biogeochemistry, mineralogy, and crystallography, making this a must-have guide for researchers.
Geopedia: A brief compendium of geologic curiosities by
A garden of geologic delights for all Earthlings Geopedia is a trove of geologic wonders and the evocative terms that humans have devised to describe them. Featuring dozens of entries--from Acasta gneiss to Zircon--this illustrated compendium is brimming with lapidary and lexical insights that will delight rockhounds and word lovers alike. Geoscientists are magpies for words, and with good reason. The sheer profusion of minerals, landforms, and geologic events produced by our creative planet demands an immense vocabulary to match. Marcia Bjornerud shows how this lexicon reflects not only the diversity of rocks and geologic processes but also the long history of human interactions with them. With wit and warmth, she invites all readers to celebrate the geologic glossary--a gallimaufry of allusions to mythology, imports from diverse languages, embarrassing anachronisms, and recent neologisms. This captivating book includes cross-references at the end of each entry, inviting you to leave the alphabetic trail and meander through it like a river. Its pocket-friendly size makes it the perfect travel companion no matter where your own geologic forays may lead you. With whimsical illustrations by Haley Hagerman, Geopedia is a mix of engaging and entertaining facts about how the earth works, how it has coevolved with life over billions of years, and how our understanding of the planet has deepened over time. Features a real cloth cover with an elaborate foil-stamped design
The Geotraveller: Geology of Famous Geosites and Areas of Historical Interest by
This book describes famous geosites and historical localities in national parks and conservation areas from North America, East Africa, and Europe. The geosites include iconic landforms associated with active volcanoes, canyons, glaciated landscapes, natural rock monoliths, and rifts. The potential for geotourism in historical localities such as the famous Greco-Roman antiquities of Greece, Italy, and Turkey, is emphasised. Some of the geosites and historical localities provide evidence that previous civilizations coped with active geology and major climatic cycles, whilst others reveal evidence of famous geological events recognized in history and ancient mythology that helped shape our current civilization. The book assists tour guides and visitors (both geologists and non-specialists) interested in geotourism by providing an understanding of geological processes in the national parks and historical locations with the assistance of photographs and simplified geological maps.
How the Mountains Grew: A New Geological History of North America by
The incredible story of the creation of a continent--our continent-- from the acclaimed author of The Last Volcano and Mask of the Sun. The immense scale of geologic time is difficult to comprehend. Our lives--and the entirety of human history--are mere nanoseconds on this timescale. Yet we hugely influenced by the land we live on. From shales and fossil fuels, from lake beds to soil composition, from elevation to fault lines, what could be more relevant that the history of the ground beneath our feet? For most of modern history, geologists could say little more about why mountains grew than the obvious: there were forces acting inside the Earth that caused mountains to rise. But what were those forces? And why did they act in some places of the planet and not at others? When the theory of plate tectonics was proposed, our concept of how the Earth worked experienced a momentous shift. As the Andes continue to rise, the Atlantic Ocean steadily widens, and Honolulu creeps ever closer to Tokyo, this seemingly imperceptible creep of the Earth is revealed in the landscape all around us. But tectonics cannot--and do not--explain everything about the wonders of the North American landscape. What about the Black Hills? Or the walls of chalk that stand amongst the rolling hills of west Kansas? Or the fact that the states of Washington and Oregon are slowly rotating clockwise, and there a diamond mine in Arizona? It all points to the geologic secrets hidden inside the 2-billion-year-old-continental masses. A whopping ten times older than the rocky floors of the ocean, continents hold the clues to the long history of our planet. With a sprightly narrative that vividly brings this science to life, John Dvorak's How the Mountains Grew will fill readers with a newfound appreciation for the wonders of the land we live on.
Political Geology by
This book explores the emerging field of political geology, an area of study dedicated to understanding the cross-sections between geology and politics. It considers how geological forces such as earthquakes, volcanoes, and unstable ground are political forces and how political forces have an impact on the earth. Together the authors seek to understand how the geos has been known, spoken for, captured, controlled and represented while creating the active underlying strata for producing worlds. This comprehensive collection covers a variety of interdisciplinary topics including the history of the geological sciences, non-Western theories of geology, the origin of the earth, and the relationship between humans and nature. It includes chapters that re-think the earth's 'geostory' as well as case studies on the politics of earthquakes in Mexico city, shamans on an Indonesian volcano, geologists at Oxford, and eroding islands in Japan. In each case political geology is attentive to the encounters between political projects and the generative geological materials that are enlisted and often slip, liquefy or erode away. This book will be of great interest to scholars and practitioners across the political and geographical sciences, as well as to philosophers of science, anthropologists and sociologists more broadly.
Stone Breaker: The poet James Gates Percival and the beginning of geology in New England by
Percival probed the volcanic origins of rock via geology and the seething nature of his psyche via poetry Stone Breaker is an in-depth, accessible biography of a true American polymath, James Gates Percival. A poet, linguist, and unstable savant Percival was also a brilliant geologist who walked thousands of miles crisscrossing first Connecticut and then Wisconsin to lay the foundation for the work of generations of Earth scientists. Exploring the confluences of literature, art, and geology, Kathleen L. Housley reveals how one of most famous poets of the 1820's became a renowned geologist with his groundbreaking 1843 work Report on the Geology of the State of Connecticut. The book includes historic photographs and paintings of the Connecticut landscape. Publication of this book is funded by the Beatrice Fox Auerbach Foundation Fund at the Hartford Foundation for Public Giving.