Library Services for Faculty and Staff

How Do I Check Out Library Material?

Your HootLoot ID serves as your library card. Full-time faculty, adjuncts and staff may borrow library materials from any of the CSCU libraries. All library patrons must present a current, valid University identification when checking out material and agree to abide by all applicable policies.

Southern Connecticut State University library patrons who have lost their  ID can obtain a replacement by going to the Wintergreen Building, Room 109. For additional information see the Card Office website.

Library Circulation Policies for CSCU (Connecticut State Colleges & Universities)

Circulation of Library Materials

• A maximum of 50 items from the CSCU Library System (Connecticut State Colleges & Universities and the Connecticut State Library) can be checked out.

• Books will circulate for 120 days with the option to renew twice.

• Library books are subject to recall after 2 weeks. If another library patron places a hold on an item that's checked out, the book(s) will need to be returned with 14 days. The due date for the requested book will change to a two-week status.

• Media (CDs, DVDs, VHS tapes) circulates for 7 days with the option to renew twice.

• Report all lost or stolen cards immediately or you may be held responsible for any library materials borrowed.

How Do I Get Items from the Other CSU Libraries?

• Requests for books from any other CSCU libraries can be done through the catalog and will be sent to Buley by campus courier. be sure to select Buley as your pick up location.

• You also can check out library material by going directly to the library.

Non-Circulating Material

The following collections do not circulate:

• Reference Collection
• Archival Sources
• Special Collections
• Periodicals Collection – Both the bound and current issues
• Microfilm/Microfiche Collections

Additionally, the following collections do not circulate to faculty and staff:

• Textbooks
• Course Reserves

The library has 1 scanner on the ground floor of the library. You can scan items to e-mail or save to a drive.

Return of Library Material

Library material can be returned to the Circulation Desk or the book drop located outside of Buley Library. Material borrowed from any of the CSCU libraries may also be returned to Buley Library and will be returned through the courier service. Interlibrary Loan material should always be returned to the Circulation Desk.

Faculty and Staff are responsible for renewing or returning all material by the due date stamped in each item. Notices are e-mailed to your Southern email as a courtesy. Facts to remember about overdue material:

• A lost or damaged item will be charged to the library patron.. The cost of the material, plus a $25.00 processing fee will be charged. If the book is found within 6 months, you will receive a refund for the book’s cost minus the processing fee. Allow 8-10 weeks for the refund.
• Fines can either be paid by check, money order, or Hoot Loot card.
• Patrons will be restricted from checking out library material when their fines exceed $5.00.
• Patrons will be blocked in Banner from registering or receiving their transcripts if their fines exceed $10.00
• Overdue notices will be sent to the library patron’s Southern email address. Please notify the library of any address or email change. You can update your email information by logging into your library record on Southern Search.
• Library patrons can renew books online in the library catalog or by calling the Check Out Desk at (203) 392-5756. Make sure that the system has actually renewed your material.

Destruction of Library Materials

Any person who damages any library material may be subject to loss of library privileges and may be referred for disciplinary action. The library patron will be responsible for the replacement cost for the damaged materials plus a $25.00 processing fee.

Renewals/Recalls

You can renew books and media twice unless the item has been requested by another library patron. Material may be renewed several ways:

1. By phone at (203) 392-5756 
2. In person at the Check Out Desk
3. Online

Library patrons who renew their material via the Web must go to  "Access Your Library Record." You now will need to have your University ID and password. Make sure that the material was actually renewed. Material cannot be renewed if a hold has been placed on the item or there are too many renewals. The screen should display the word "RENEWED" and also provide a new due date. Please contact the Check Out Desk if there are any questions.

All material checked out is subject to recall after two weeks when requested by another library patron. Reserve materials can be recalled immediately. Failure to return recalled material will result in an overdue fine of 50 cents per day, per item.

Holds

If you need library material from any of the libraries in the CSCU system currently checked out, you can place a "hold" on the item through the catalog. Your hold request will generate a recall notice that will be sent out to the library patron. Once the library material is returned to the library, you will receive an email notification of its arrival. The item will be held at the Buley Library Circulation Desk for 10 working days. After 10 days, the material will be returned to our stacks or the CSCU library.

Books on Hold at the Circulation Desk

All material on hold will held for 24 hours. 

HOW DO I GET A BOOK, JOURNAL OR DISSERTATION FROM ILL?

1. For books and media, check the SouthernSearch Library Catalog to determine if Buley or one of the other CSCU libraries own.

2. If the item(s) are not owned by any library in  the CSCU Library System use Interlibrary Loan to request the item.

3. GO TO: ILL REQUEST and follow the instructions.

HOW DO I GET A JOURNAL ARTICLE FROM ILL?

1. First check the journal finder to determine if the article is available in full-text online.

2. If you're in a database (Ex. Academic Search Premier) look to see if a PDF or HTML file is available. This indicates that the journal is full-text.

3. If not available in full-text go to ILL request.

HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE TO GET MY ILL REQUEST FILLED?

Book Requests, from Connecticut libraries, will normally be shipped within 5-10 business days. Books coming from other states may take two weeks or longer to arrive.  Check the ILLIad System to see the status of your request. All books/dissertation material will be kept at the Check Out Desk for pickup. The library will return all items after 10 business days. Please contact our library if you have any additional questions.

Journal Article Requests will be delivered electronically to your desktop and often are available within 24-48 hours.  All journal articles can be kept by you.

The Interlibrary Loan Department will process only five requests per patron per day during the busy periods.

WHO CAN USE THE ILL SERVICES?

Interlibrary Loan Services are limited to SCSU faculty, students, and staff. Other library patrons should use their public or university library to request materials.

HOW DO I GET MATERIAL FROM THE OTHER CSCU LIBRARIES?

In the catalog, use the "REQUEST IT" function to order library items.

The catalog will ask you for your Campus Network Username and Password. This is what you use to log into the campus computers or Blackboard.