Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Manga

This guide was originally created for students of English 218 studying Comics and the Graphics Novel in Professor Baraw's American Experience and Literature Course at Southern Connecticut State University.

Graphic Novel Database

The database contains full text graphic novels, comics and manga. For articles, use the databases listed below.

SouthernSearch for Articles

SouthernSearch searches many of our databases, but not all of them. Use the links to databases to find the most relevant resources.

If you do use SouthernSearch, limit your search to peer-reviewed journals by using the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

Databases

To find periodical/journal articles and critical essays on Graphic novels and their authors, try the following databases. The literature databases are listed first followed by multidisciplinary databases which also contain scholarly and critical information on authors and their works. Off-campus access to databases requires an SCSU username and password. While many articles are available full text through the databases, some may be available only in print journals and some may not be available at all in Buley Library. Articles not available can be requested through Interlibrary loan.

More Databases

Additional databases for research on graphic novelists, comic strips, cartoonists, and their works:

 

Requesting Articles

If an article is not available full-text online or in print at Buley Library, you can request it through interlibrary loan. 

Enter your username and password to access the interlibrary loan forms.

Select "Journal Articles" under New Request on the left hand side and fill out the details of your request. Then click submit.

Most often the article will be emailed to you. If the article cannot be emailed it will be photocopied and mailed to you. You will be notified if a request cannot be fulfilled. 

There is no charge for interlibrary loan.