Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graphic Novels, Comics, and Manga

This guide was originally created for students of English 218 studying Comics and the Graphics Novel in Professor Baraw's American Experience and Literature Course at Southern Connecticut State University.

Buley Resources

To browse for comics and graphic novels in Buley, go to the PN 6720-40 area on the 3rd floor and the juvenile collection on the ground floor. All titles are in SouthernSearch.

You can also find full-text comics and graphic novels online in Underground Comics & Graphic Novels, volumes I & II

We also have a collection of graphic novels you can look at but not check out in Special Collections on the ground floor.

SouthernSearch

Use SouthernSearch to locate information in our library. SouthernSearch provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

Enter your search terms in the search box provided and click on Search. The default is to search "Everything at SCSU." You can click on the down arrow next to "Everything at SCSU" for other choices such as SCSU Catalog and Collections, Articles and e-books, Course Reserves, and CT State Colleges and Universities.

SouthernSearch on the Library Home Page

When searching by keyword use "and" to combine your search terms for more precise results.
Example: Graphic novels and history
You can combine as many terms as you wish using "and" but the more terms you use the less results you will get.

Use "or" to expand or broaden your search. "Or" is generally used with synonyms.
Example: comic books or graphic novels

You can combine as many terms as you wish using "or" and the more terms you combine the greater your results will be.

Use Advanced Search for more search options to limit or focus your search.

Searches will retrieve articles and other materials as well as books. To limit your search to books, use the options on the left after you receive the initial results.

SouthernSearch Search Form

SouthernSearch

Search for books, videos, articles, course reserves, and more:

Key Books in Buley Library

This is a curated list. For more recent additions to the collections, use SouthernSearch.

The 101 best graphic novels

The 9/11 report : a graphic adaptation

20,000 leagues under the sea

The adventures of Tom Sawyer

The beats : a graphic history

The best American comics 2015

Birth of a nation : a comic novel

Building literacy connections with graphic novels : page by page, panel by panel

The cartoon history of the modern world. Part 1, From Columbus to the U.S. Constitution

Classics and comics

Comics, manga, and graphic novels : a history of graphic narratives

Encyclopedia of comic books and graphic novels

Folklore & fairy tale funnies

The graphic novel: an introduction

Graphic novels : a bibliographic guide to book-length comics

Graphic novels : a genre guide to comic books, manga, and more

Graphic novels : everything you need to know

Graphic storytelling and visual narrative : principles and practices from the legendary cartoonist

History of the DC universe

Homeland : the illustrated history of the state of Israel

Huckleberry Finn 

Hundreds of feet below daylight : the life and death of the mining town of Solomon's Gulch, Idaho as recorded

Inside out : portrait of an eating disorder

The librarian's guide to graphic novels for adults

The librarian's guide to graphic novels for children and tweens

Love and marriage

Malcolm X : a graphic biography

Outlaw : the legend of Robin Hood, a graphic novel

Palestine

A people's history of American empire : a graphic adaptation

Persepolis

The plot : the secret story of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion

The power of comics : history, form and culture

Psychiatric tales : eleven graphic stories about mental illness

Representing multiculturalism in comics and graphics novels

Ronald Reagan : a graphic biography

The Sandman

The story of my life

Students for a Democratic Society : a graphic history

Waltz with Bashir : a Lebanon war story

Watchmen

Will Eisner: champion of the graphic novel

The wind in the willows

 
 

Where Are Books Shelved?

Call numbers indicate where in the library books are shelved:

  • A-PL: 2nd floor.
  • PM-Z: 3d floor.
  • REF: Reference section on the 1st floor of Buley Library. 
  • Media Collection: 1st floor, just past the big staircase.
  • JUV and CURR: ground floor.
  • Oversize books and the thesis collection: 3d floor.

Here's a floorplan indicating where materials are shelved on each floor of the library.

Checking Out Books

Circulating books are checked out at the Check-out desk on the main floor with a valid SCSU ID. Books can be checked out for 28 days with the option to have them renewed if no one else has requested them. Reference books cannot be checked out.

Requesting Books From Another Library

From another CSCU library:

  • If another library in the CSCU System has a book that is not in Buley, you can request it through SouthernSearch.
  • Select  CT State Colleges and Universities from the pulldown menu that says Everything at SCSU.
  • Enter your search terms and execute your search.
  • Once the results list appears, you need to sign in to your library account to see which library has the book. You will see the name of the library that has the book and "available" if the book is available to be loaned.
  • Click on "available" and you will see more information about the book and option to "request" the book.
  • Click on "Request" and then select Southern Connecticut State University from the Pick-up institution list. (The Pick-up list defaults to the institution that has the book so you will need to click on the down arrow and select Southern Connecticut State University from that list).

From anywhere else:

If a book is not available from any library in the CSCU System, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request it. The book will be sent to Buley. Ask for the book at the Check Out desk when you receive an email telling you it has arrived. Please call 203 392-7038 for assistance.

Scanners

Several IT printers on the first floor allow you to scan books or documents. There is a printer located by the IT Help Desk and another printer near the reference stacks. Scanning to your email is free. Copying and printing is 5 cents for a single side black and white page and 8 cents for a double-side page. Color printing is 25 cents for a single page and 40 cents for a double-side page. Assistance with scanning using the IT printers is provided by the IT Help Desk on the first floor.

A book scanner is available on the ground floor of the library. Users can scan to a flash drive for free. You cannot print from the book scanner. Assistance with scanning using the book scanner is provided by the Research Desk on the first floor.

Hoot Loot card holders can add to their account from the Card Value Center in Buley Library which is located opposite the Check-out counter on the main floor.