Peer-reviewed, refereed, or scholarly journals have articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field. Not all articles in peer-reviewed journals are reviewed, however. Some may be news, opinion, or short reports. Many databases are either all peer-reviewed journals or have a check box to limit a search to just peer-reviewed journals.
Databases will search of many journals to help you find articles related to your topics. Some databases will provide the full article while some will just provide you with a summary which the full articles can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Provides open access (free access) to pre-print drafts of journal articles. Select "Mathematics" in the subject search or scroll down to see all subtopics in mathematics.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. For more accessible views, replace arXiv with ar5iv in any article URL. See ar5iv.org for more info.
Search for journals and books in science, technology, and mathematics.
Search interface for journals and books from Elsevier, one of the world's premier publishers in science, technology, and medicine. We have a limited number of current journals in ScienceDirect (back to 1995), a few back files (up to 1995), and no books. Document Delivery may be available, contact the Reference Desk.
Depending on your topic, trying a multi-disciplinary database could be a good place to find research. This database provides academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.
This multi-disciplinary database provides indexing, abstracts and much full text for academic journals, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers on every topic.