These are some examples of Math books in our catalog. Use SouthernSearch the online CSU catalog for books at Southern and the other CSCU libraries.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by
With over 4,000 entries, this informative A to Z provides clear, jargon-free definitions on a wide variety of mathematical terms. Its entries cover both pure and applied mathematics, and include key theories, concepts, methods, programmes, people, and terminology.For this sixth edition, around 800 new terms have been defined, expanding on the dictionary's coverage of topics such as algebra, differential geometry, algebraic geometry, representation theory, and statistics. Among this new material are articles such as cardinal arithmetic, first fundamentalform, Lagrange's theorem, Navier-Stokes equations, potential, and splitting field. The existing entries have also been revised and updated to account for developments in the field.Numerous supplementary features complement the text, including detailed appendices on basic algebra, areas and volumes, trigonometric formulae, and Roman numerals. Newly added to these sections is a historical timeline of significant mathematicians lives and the emergence of key theorems. There arealso illustrations, graphs, and charts throughout the text, as well as useful web links to provide access to further reading.
Connecting Humans to Equations: A Reinterpretation of the Philosophy of Mathematics by
Connecting Humans to Equations: A Reinterpretation of the Philosophy of Mathematics presents some of the most important positions in the philosophy of mathematics, while adding new dimensions to this philosophy. Mathematics is an integral part of human and social life, meaning that a philosophy of mathematics must include several dimensions. This book describes these dimensions by the following four questions that structure the content of the book: Where is mathematics? How certain is mathematics? How social is mathematics? How good is mathematics? These four questions refer to the ontological, epistemological, social, and ethical dimension of a philosophy of mathematics. While the ontological and epistemological dimensions have been explored in all classic studies in the philosophy of mathematics, the exploration of the book is unique in its social and ethical dimensions. It argues that the foundation of mathematics is deeply connected to human and social actions and that mathematics includes not just descriptive but also performative features. This human-centered and accessible interpretation of mathematics is relevant for students in mathematics, mathematics education, and any technical discipline and for anybody working with mathematics.
The Gravity of Math: How Geometry Rules the Universe by
"A must-read."―Avi Loeb, New York Times-bestselling author of Extraterrestrial One of the preeminent mathematicians of the past half century shows how physics and math were combined to give us the theory of gravity and the dizzying array of ideas and insights that has come from it Mathematics is far more than just the language of science. It is a critical underpinning of nature. The famed physicist Albert Einstein demonstrated this in 1915 when he showed that gravity--long considered an attractive force between massive objects--was actually a manifestation of the curvature, or geometry, of space and time. But in making this towering intellectual leap, Einstein needed the help of several mathematicians, including Marcel Grossmann, who introduced him to the geometrical framework upon which his theory rest. In The Gravity of Math, Steve Nadis and Shing-Tung Yau consider how math can drive and sometimes even anticipate discoveries in physics. Examining phenomena like black holes, gravitational waves, and the Big Bang, Nadis and Yau ask: Why do mathematical statements, derived solely from logic, provide the best descriptions of our physical world? The Gravity of Math offers an insightful and compelling look into the power of mathematics--whose reach, like that of gravity, can extend to the edge of the universe.
Illustrating Mathematics by
This book is for anyone who wishes to illustrate their mathematical ideas, which in our experience means everyone. It is organized by material, rather than by subject area, and purposefully emphasizes the process of creating things, including discussions of failures that occurred along the way. As a result, the reader can learn from the experiences of those who came before, and will be inspired to create their own illustrations. Topics illustrated within include prime numbers, fractals, the Klein bottle, Borromean rings, tilings, space-filling curves, knot theory, billiards, complex dynamics, algebraic surfaces, groups and prime ideals, the Riemann zeta function, quadratic fields, hyperbolic space, and hyperbolic 3-manifolds. Everyone who opens this book should find a type of mathematics with which they identify. Each contributor explains the mathematics behind their illustration at an accessible level, so that all readers can appreciate the beauty of both the object itself and the mathematics behind it.
Mathematics for Human Flourishing by
Winner of the Mathematics Association of America's 2021 Euler Book Prize, this is an inclusive vision of mathematics--its beauty, its humanity, and its power to build virtues that help us all flourish "This is perhaps the most important mathematics book of our time. Francis Su shows mathematics is an experience of the mind and, most important, of the heart."--James Tanton, Global Math Project "A good book is an entertaining read. A great book holds up a mirror that allows us to more clearly see ourselves and the world we live in. Francis Su's Mathematics for Human Flourishing is both a good book and a great book."--MAA Reviews For mathematician Francis Su, a society without mathematical affection is like a city without concerts, parks, or museums. To miss out on mathematics is to live without experiencing some of humanity's most beautiful ideas. In this profound book, written for a wide audience but especially for those disenchanted by their past experiences, an award‑winning mathematician and educator weaves parables, puzzles, and personal reflections to show how mathematics meets basic human desires--such as for play, beauty, freedom, justice, and love--and cultivates virtues essential for human flourishing. These desires and virtues, and the stories told here, reveal how mathematics is intimately tied to being human. Some lessons emerge from those who have struggled, including philosopher Simone Weil, whose own mathematical contributions were overshadowed by her brother's, and Christopher Jackson, who discovered mathematics as an inmate in a federal prison. Christopher's letters to the author appear throughout the book and show how this intellectual pursuit can--and must--be open to all.
Math for Scientists: Refreshing the Essentials by
This book reviews math topics relevant to non-mathematics students and scientists, but which they may not have seen or studied for a while. These math issues can range from reading mathematical symbols, to using complex numbers, dealing with equations involved in calculating medication equivalents, the General Linear Model (GLM) used in e.g. neuroimaging analysis, finding the minimum of a function, independent component analysis, or filtering approaches. Almost every student or scientist, will at some point run into mathematical formulas or ideas in scientific papers that may be hard to understand, given that formal math education may be some years ago. In this book we will explain the theory behind many of these mathematical ideas and expressions and provide readers with the tools to better understand them. We will revisit high school mathematics and extend and relate this to the mathematics you need to understand the math you may encounter in the course of your research. This book will help you understand the math and formulas in the scientific papers you read. To achieve this goal, each chapter mixes theory with practical pen-and-paper exercises such that you (re)gain experience with solving math problems yourself. Mnemonics will be taught whenever possible. To clarify the math and help readers apply it, each chapter provides real-world and scientific examples.
The Politics of Modelling: Numbers Between Science and Modelling by
Chapter 2, 'Pay no attention to the model behind the curtain', Chapter 4, 'Mind the hubris: Complexity can misfire', and Chapter 8, ' Sensitivity auditing: A practical checklist for auditing decision-relevant models' are published open access and free to read or download from Oxford Academic The widespread use of mathematical models for policy-making and its social and political impact are at the core of this book. While the discussion of mathematical modelling generally centres around technical features, use, and type of model, the literature is increasingly acknowledging that the social nature of modelling, its biases and responsibilities, are equally worth investigating. This book tackles these emerging questions by adopting a multidisciplinary approach to investigate how current modelling practices address contemporary challenges, and fills a gap in the field, which has historically focused on statistical and algorithmic modes of producing numbers. Thanks to its multidisciplinary appeal, this book will be essential reading for modellers, public officials, policymakers, and scholars alike.
Probability and Statistics in the Physical Sciences by
This book, now in its third edition, offers a practical guide to the use of probability and statistics in experimental physics that is of value for both advanced undergraduates and graduate students. Focusing on applications and theorems and techniques actually used in experimental research, it includes worked problems with solutions, as well as homework exercises to aid understanding. Suitable for readers with no prior knowledge of statistical techniques, the book comprehensively discusses the topic and features a number of interesting and amusing applications that are often neglected. Providing an introduction to neural net techniques that encompasses deep learning, adversarial neural networks, and boosted decision trees, this new edition includes updated chapters with, for example, additions relating to generating and characteristic functions, Bayes' theorem, the Feldman-Cousins method, Lagrange multipliers for constraints, estimation of likelihood ratios, and unfolding problems.
Shape: The hidden geometry of information, biology, strategy, democracy, and everything else by
An instant New York Times Bestseller! "Unreasonably entertaining . . . reveals how geometric thinking can allow for everything from fairer American elections to better pandemic planning." --The New York Times From the New York Times-bestselling author of How Not to Be Wrong--himself a world-class geometer--a far-ranging exploration of the power of geometry, which turns out to help us think better about practically everything. How should a democracy choose its representatives? How can you stop a pandemic from sweeping the world? How do computers learn to play Go, and why is learning Go so much easier for them than learning to read a sentence? Can ancient Greek proportions predict the stock market? (Sorry, no.) What should your kids learn in school if they really want to learn to think? All these are questions about geometry. For real. If you're like most people, geometry is a sterile and dimly remembered exercise you gladly left behind in the dust of ninth grade, along with your braces and active romantic interest in pop singers. If you recall any of it, it's plodding through a series of miniscule steps only to prove some fact about triangles that was obvious to you in the first place. That's not geometry. Okay, it is geometry, but only a tiny part, which has as much to do with geometry in all its flush modern richness as conjugating a verb has to do with a great novel. Shape reveals the geometry underneath some of the most important scientific, political, and philosophical problems we face. Geometry asks: Where are things? Which things are near each other? How can you get from one thing to another thing? Those are important questions. The word "geometry"comes from the Greek for "measuring the world." If anything, that's an undersell. Geometry doesn't just measure the world--it explains it. Shape shows us how.