It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Science: New Issues, Challenges and Applications by Gintautas Dzemyda (Editor); Jolita Bernatavičienė (Editor); Janusz Kacprzyk (Editor)This book contains 16 chapters by researchers working in various fields of data science. They focus on theory and applications in language technologies, optimization, computational thinking, intelligent decision support systems, decomposition of signals, model-driven development methodologies, interoperability of enterprise applications, anomaly detection in financial markets, 3D virtual reality, monitoring of environmental data, convolutional neural networks, knowledge storage, data stream classification, and security in social networking. The respective papers highlight a wealth of issues in, and applications of, data science. Modern technologies allow us to store and transfer large amounts of data quickly. They can be very diverse - images, numbers, streaming, related to human behavior and physiological parameters, etc. Whether the data is just raw numbers, crude images, or will help solve current problems and predict future developments, depends on whether we can effectively process and analyze it. Data science is evolving rapidly. However, it is still a very young field. In particular, data science is concerned with visualizations, statistics, pattern recognition, neurocomputing, image analysis, machine learning, artificial intelligence, databases and data processing, data mining, big data analytics, and knowledge discovery in databases. It also has many interfaces with optimization, block chaining, cyber-social and cyber-physical systems, Internet of Things (IoT), social computing, high-performance computing, in-memory key-value stores, cloud computing, social computing, data feeds, overlay networks, cognitive computing, crowdsource analysis, log analysis, container-based virtualization, and lifetime value modeling. Again, all of these areas are highly interrelated. In addition, data science is now expanding to new fields of application: chemical engineering, biotechnology, building energy management, materials microscopy, geographic research, learning analytics, radiology, metal design, ecosystem homeostasis investigation, and many others.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2020-02-14
Data Science and Visual Computing by Rae Earnshaw; John Dill; David KasikData science addresses the need to extract knowledge and information from data volumes, often from real-time sources in a wide variety of disciplines such as astronomy, bioinformatics, engineering, science, medicine, social science, business, and the humanities. The range and volume of data sources has increased enormously over time, particularly those generating real-time data. This has posed additional challenges for data management and data analysis of the data and effective representation and display. A wide range of application areas are able to benefit from the latest visual tools and facilities. Rapid analysis is needed in areas where immediate decisions need to be made. Such areas include weather forecasting, the stock exchange, and security threats. In areas where the volume of data being produced far exceeds the current capacity to analyze all of it, attention is being focussed how best to address these challenges. Optimum ways of addressing large data sets across a variety of disciplines have led to the formation of national and institutional Data Science Institutes and Centers. Being driven by national priority, they are able to attract support for research and development within their organizations and institutions to bring together interdisciplinary expertise to address a wide variety of problems. Visual computing is a set of tools and methodologies that utilize 2D and 3D images to extract information from data. Such methods include data analysis, simulation, and interactive exploration. These are analyzed and discussed.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-08-24
The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science by Stylianos KampakisData science is expanding across industries at a rapid pace, and the companies first to adopt best practices will gain a significant advantage. To reap the benefits, decision makers need to have a confident understanding of data science and its application in their organization. It is easy for novices to the subject to feel paralyzed by intimidating buzzwords, but what many don't realize is that data science is in fact quite multidisciplinary--useful in the hands of business analysts, communications strategists, designers, and more. With the second edition of The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science, you will learn how to think like a veteran data scientist and approach solutions to business problems in an entirely new way. Author Stylianos Kampakis provides you with the expertise and tools required to develop a solid data strategy that is continuously effective. Ethics and legal issues surrounding data collection and algorithmic bias are some common pitfalls that Kampakis helps you avoid, while guiding you on the path to build a thriving data science culture at your organization. This updated and revised second edition, includes plenty of case studies, tools for project assessment, and expanded content for hiring and managing data scientists Data science is a language that everyone at a modern company should understand across departments. Friction in communication arises most often when management does not connect with what a data scientist is doing or how impactful data collection and storage can be for their organization. The Decision Maker's Handbook to Data Science bridges this gap and readies you for both the present and future of your workplace in this engaging, comprehensive guide. What You Will Learn Understand how data science can be used within your business. Recognize the differences between AI, machine learning, and statistics. Become skilled at thinking like a data scientist, without being one. Discover how to hire and manage data scientists. Comprehend how to build the right environment in order to make your organization data-driven. Who This Book Is For Startup founders, product managers, higher level managers, and any other non-technical decision makers who are thinking to implement data science in their organization and hire data scientists. A secondary audience includes people looking for a soft introduction into the subject of data science.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-11-27
Principles of Data Science by Hamid R. Arabnia (Editor); Kevin Daimi (Editor); Robert Stahlbock (Editor); Cristina Soviany (Editor); Leonard Heilig (Editor); Kai Brüssau (Editor)This book provides readers with a thorough understanding of various research areas within the field of data science. The book introduces readers to various techniques for data acquisition, extraction, and cleaning, data summarizing and modeling, data analysis and communication techniques, data science tools, deep learning, and various data science applications. Researchers can extract and conclude various future ideas and topics that could result in potential publications or thesis. Furthermore, this book contributes to Data Scientists' preparation and to enhancing their knowledge of the field. The book provides a rich collection of manuscripts in highly regarded data science topics, edited by professors with long experience in the field of data science. Introduces various techniques, methods, and algorithms adopted by Data Science experts Provides a detailed explanation of data science perceptions, reinforced by practical examples Presents a road map of future trends suitable for innovative data science research and practice
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2020-07-09
Practical Data Science with Python 3 by Ervin VargaGain insight into essential data science skills in a holistic manner using data engineering and associated scalable computational methods. This book covers the most popular Python 3 frameworks for both local and distributed (in premise and cloud based) processing. Along the way, you will be introduced to many popular open-source frameworks, like, SciPy, scikitlearn, Numba, Apache Spark, etc. The book is structured around examples, so you will grasp core concepts via case studies and Python 3 code. As data science projects gets continuously larger and more complex, software engineering knowledge and experience is crucial to produce evolvable solutions. You'll see how to create maintainable software for data science and how to document data engineering practices. This book is a good starting point for people who want to gain practical skills to perform data science. All the code will be available in the form of IPython notebooks and Python 3 programs, which allow you to reproduce all analyses from the book and customize them for your own purpose. You'll also benefit from advanced topics like Machine Learning, Recommender Systems, and Security in Data Science. Practical Data Science with Python will empower you analyze data, formulate proper questions, and produce actionable insights, three core stages in most data science endeavors. What You'll Learn Play the role of a data scientist when completing increasingly challenging exercises using Python 3 Work work with proven data science techniques/technologies Review scalable software engineering practices to ramp up data analysis abilities in the realm of Big Data Apply theory of probability, statistical inference, and algebra to understand the data science practices Who This Book Is For Anyone who would like to embark into the realm of data science using Python 3.
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2019-09-08
Research in Data Science by Ellen Gasparovic (Editor); Carlotta Domeniconi (Editor)This edited volume on data science features a variety of research ranging from theoretical to applied and computational topics. Aiming to establish the important connection between mathematics and data science, this book addresses cutting edge problems in predictive modeling, multi-scale representation and feature selection, statistical and topological learning, and related areas. Contributions study topics such as the hubness phenomenon in high-dimensional spaces, the use of a heuristic framework for testing the multi-manifold hypothesis for high-dimensional data, the investigation of interdisciplinary approaches to multi-dimensional obstructive sleep apnea patient data, and the inference of a dyadic measure and its simplicial geometry from binary feature data. Based on the first Women in Data Science and Mathematics (WiSDM) Research Collaboration Workshop that took place in 2017 at the Institute for Compuational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM) in Providence, Rhode Island, this volume features submissions from several of the working groups as well as contributions from the wider community. The volume is suitable for researchers in data science in industry and academia.