SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: Patents and Trademarks: Patents and Trademarks: Research & Statistics

Patent Statistics and Raw Data

Most patent offices and agencies make their statistics available online:

USPTO Statistics Website
Includes a data visualization center for U.S. patents and trademarks.
WIPO Intellectual Property Statistics
Includes links to national and regional IP statistical sources; coverage and availability of raw data varies by country.
Canada (CIPO) IP Statistics
European Patent Office (EPO) Statistics
Chinese Patent Data Project
Primary data repository for the Chinese Patent Data Project (CPDP). In this project, patents from China's State Intellectual Property Office (SIPO) are matched to various types of companies. Information about announcements, new data releases, tools, supplemental files, fixes, etc. is available on the project website (sites.google.com/site/sipopdb/).
OECD Portal on Patent Statistics
Links to sources on global patent statistics, compiled by the OECD's Directorate for Science, Technology and Industry.
WIPO Patent Landscape Reports
Reports on various topics related to patent activity, which often contain statistics and leads to downloadable data.

The USPTO enables Google to provide the public with bulk downloads of patent and trademark data that can be read in applications. Coverage goes back to 1977 and the availability of formats varies by dates. Be sure to review the USPTO's policies on the use of its data.

Patent Landscapes

A patent landscape is an analysis of patent data that reveals business, scientific and technological trends. Landscape reports typically focus on a single industry, technology or geographic region. Use the following databases to locate patent landscape reports in the published literature. A good initial search strategy would include keywords such as "patent" and "landscape" and a term describing the technology, e.g. "solar."

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers journal and non-journal content (books, reports, conferences, etc.) in all areas of business and management.
Business Source Premier provides full text for journals, including peer-reviewed titles. Coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes journals in the sciences, medicine and technology from 1900 to the present and conferences from 1990 forward.

Additional Patent and Trademark Assistance

Inventors Assistance Center
The Inventors Assistance Center provides patent information and services to the public. It is staffed by former Supervisory Patent Examiners and Primary Examiners who answer general questions concerning patent examining policy and procedure.
Patent Electronic Business Center
The Patent Electronic Business Center (EBC) assists customers with filing their electronic patent application submissions via the Electronic Filing System (EFS-Web) and with the review of patent applications in Public and Private PAIR.
Trademark Assistance Center
The Trademark Assistance Center (TAC) is the main support center for all customers, from first-time filers to legal professionals and experienced trademark applicants. Although TAC may not give legal advice, it can answer general questions about the trademark process and the Trademark Electronic Application System (TEAS) forms.
USPTO Find a Patent Practitioner
Find an IP Lawyer in CT
UConn Intellectual Property & Entrepreneurship Law Clinic