Skip to Main Content

Special Collections and Archives

Buley LIbrary, Southern Connecticut State University

Please Visit Us!

Please Note: During the Covid-19 pandemic, Special Collections will be available by appointment only.

We welcome students, staff, faculty, and community members to explore our collections. Our reading room contains 16 seats for individual visitors and small groups. Special Collections is located on the Ground Floor of Buley Library and is accessible by the main staircase and elevators. Walk-in hours currently vary, so it is a good idea to call ahead to arrange your visit. Due to the rare and fragile nature of our materials, all special collections materials are non-circulating.

In order to set up a visit for research or instruction, please contact Special Collections Faculty. If possible, please attach this form to your e-mail, so that we have as much information as possible to help you in your request. For general Special Collections Materials or Archives, please contact Patrick Crowley (crowleyp5@southernct.edu), and for Artists' Books, please contact Tina Re (ret1@southernct.edu).

Please help us to preserve our collections for generations of new viewers:

• Please no food or drink

• Please arrive with clean hands --or wash hands before entering the reading room

• Please place backpacks and handbags on shelves along the side wall

• Note-taking with pencils only (no pens)

• Photography of objects with cell phone or handheld camera is allowed for personal use. For questions about digital reproductions for other uses, please contact us, and we’ll be happy to help.

In some cases, Librarians can provide digitized material from the collections. Please contact us with questions about this service. Due to the pandemic, we are exploring virtual presentation of our collections. Please contact us about these new and evolving services.

Also, please visit our Digital Collections here.

 

Bartholomew's New Series Drawing Book No. 3. Boston: Woolworth, Ainsworth & Co., 1868.

[Napoleon surrenders at Waterloo], c. 1820, From the Eula H. Davies Napoleonica Collection