SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: *Biology: Botany

Articles and research

Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Covering all aspects of biology, BSC is especially good for the plant sciences. You can limit to full text and peer review from the main search box, and filter results by date and subject from the left menu of the search results page.
The collection contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is particularly good for historical information (going back to the first scientific journals in the 17th century.) Limit to 'Botany & Plant Sciences' in the Journal Filter below the search boxes for targeted searching in botany journals.
Google Scholar with SCSU Login This link opens in a new window
Not all materials listed in Google Scholar are freely available, but if you access from on campus, use this A to Z Listing, or search with the Google Scholar search box on the library home page, Google Scholar recognizes your location/SCSU login and automatically shows you the link to the library materials beneath each search entry. Clicking "Getit@Southern" or "SCSU Journal Finder" will show you whether you can access your Google Scholar search result through the library.

science, technology, arts, humanities, literature, history, psychology, education, social sciences, political science, medicine, nursing, biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, geology, geography, physics
Get automatic links to library subscription content by logging in.

BIO 103 Tutorial

This tutorial is specific for the assignment of finding scientific studies to use as lab references in BIO 103. However, the skills you will practice here are the same for finding any sort of scientific article in any class. This guide will remain available, so come back to it whenever you need to: https://southernct.libwizard.com/f/bio103

After class, you can come back and review any portion of the tutorial as you need for this assignment and your future ones.

If you are visiting this tutorial other than during the original assignment for BIO103, please fill out the Follow-Up Survey below. (You don't have to fill out the survey at the end of the tutorial again.) Thank you!

BIO 103 Follow-Up Survey

Study & Review

Labeled plant cell diagram
Hover over the terms on the right to highlight the structures in the diagram
How to Read a Scientific Paper (PDF)
From the American Society for Plant Biologists: "an introduction to and overview of the standard practices, including peer review, ethics, the typical organization of a paper, and an introduction to numerical data and the meaning of statistical significance."
Case Study: Reading a Plant Physiology Article
From the American Society of Plant Biologists: " guided tour of a paper from the journal Plant Physiology (the original article is appended at the back of the PDF). This case study walks the students through the paper, from start to finish, with questions to prompt deeper understanding."