Skip to main content

Hilton C. Buley Library

 

Policies: Borrowing/Circulation

LIBRARY CIRCULATION POLICIES

Your student Hoot Loot or CSCU ID serves as your library card. All full-time and part-time undergraduate and graduate students enrolled in the CSCU (Ct. State College & Universities) System may borrow library materials from any of the libraries. All library patrons must present a current, valid University identification when checking out material and agree to abide by all applicable policies.

Southern Connecticut State University library patrons without an ID can obtain one by going to the Wintergreen Building.
See Hours of Operation, on the University Card Office Website

Undergraduate Students - Circulation of Library Materials

  • A maximum of 25 items from the CSCU Library System (Connecticut State Colleges & Universities and the Connecticut State Library) can be checked out.
  • Books circulate for 28 days with the option to renew twice.
  • Library books are subject to recall after 2 weeks. If another library patron places a hold on an item that's checked out, the book(s) will need to be returned with 14 days. The due date for the requested book will change to a two-week status.
  • Media (CDs, DVDs, VHS tapes) circulates for one week with the option to renew once.
  • Students are not allowed to transfer their ID cards or borrow library materials for other individuals.
  • Report all lost or stolen cards immediately or you may be held responsible for any library materials borrowed.

Graduate Students - Circulation of Library Materials

  • A maximum of 25 items from the CSCU Library System (Connecticut State Colleges & Universities and the Connecticut State Library) can be checked out.
  • Books circulate for 128 days.
  • Library books are subject to recall after 2 weeks. If another library patron places a hold on an item that's checked out, the book(s) will need to be returned with 14 days. The due date for the requested book will change to a two-week status.
  • Media(CDs, DVDs, VHS tapes) circulates for one week with the option to renew once.
  • Students are not allowed to transfer their ID cards or borrow library materials for other individuals.
  • Report all lost or stolen library cards immediately or you may be held responsible for any library items checked out on your account.

How Do I Get Items from the Other CSCU Libraries?

  • Material can be requested from any of the other CSCU Libraries and the Connecticut State Library  through the online catalog. All material will be sent to Buley Library by campus courier. Normally it takes between 3-5 days for your requests to arrive at the Circulation Desk. Courier service is not available on the weekends and holidays.
  • Students can also go directly to the library and use their student ID to check out library materials.

How to I Find Print Reserve Material?

  • Professors may place books, media, or articles on Reserves.
  • All physical items are kept behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library.
  • Fines may be charged for late or lost reserve materials.
  • Non-circulating Reserves are available for two-hours and can be renewed in two-hour increments.
  • Overnight Reserves material can be checked out overnight. Monday through Saturday all Reserves are due back the next day by 9:00 a.m. Exception: Reserve material checked out on Saturday is due back on Sunday by 1:00 p.m.

Media Collection:

  • All video and non-print material circulates for one week, with onr renewal.

Interlibrary Loan Material:

  • Interlibrary loan material can be requested through the ILL library web site.
  • ILL online materials, such as journal articles, will automatically be sent to your desktop unless otherwise requested. Books and other items can be picked up at the Circulation Desk.
  • Many libraries will allow renewals of their ILL material, but all renewal requests must be submitted to Interlibrary Loan via your ILLiad account.
  • Library patrons agree to follow all ILL policies and will be held responsible for all fines or lost items.

Non-Circulating Material

The following collections do not normally circulate:

  • Reference Collection
  • Archival Sources
  • Special Collections
  • Bound and current issues in the Periodicals Collection

Microfilm/Microfiche Collections

The library has 2 scanner/printers on the first floor of the library. Another scanner is available in the Periodicals Reading Room. You can scan items and print out, e-mail or save to a UBS drive.

Where Do I Return Library Material?

  • Books can be returned to the Circulation Desk, the inside book drop, or the book drop outside of the front of Buley Library.
  • Media SHOULD NOT be dropped in the book drop but brought to the Circulation Desk.
  • Material borrowed from any of the CSCU libraries may also be returned to Buley Library and will be returned through the courier service.
  • Interlibrary Loan material should always be returned to the Circulation Desk.

FINES - OVERDUE, LOST AND DAMAGED MATERIALS

Library patrons are responsible for renewing or returning all material by the due date stamped in each item. Notices are e-mailed to your Southern Owl E-Mail as a courtesy. Facts to remember about overdue material:

  • Fines are assessed for overdue books at 10 cents per day, per item, with a maximum charge of $10.00 per item.
  • A lost or damaged item will be charged to the library patron.. The cost of the material, plus a $20.00 processing fee will be charged. If the book is found within 6 months, you will receive a refund for the book’s cost minus the processing fee. Allow 8-10 weeks for the refund.
  • Fines can either be paid by check, money order, or Hoot Loot debit card.
  • Fines for overnight reserve material returned late are $2.00 per day, per item.
  • Patrons will be restricted from checking out library material when their fines exceed $5.00.
  • Patrons will be blocked in Banner from registering or receiving their transcripts if their fines exceed $10.00
  • Overdue notices will be sent to the library patron’s Southern e-mail address. Please notify the library of any address or e-mail change. You can update your e-mail information by logging into your library record at: https://www.consuls.org/patroninfo
  • The library patron is responsible for overdue material, even if a friend has the item or the friend returns the item late.
  • Library patrons can renew books online in the CONSULS library catalog or by calling the circulation desk at (203) 392-5756. Make sure that the system has actually renewed your material.

Destruction of Library Materials

Any person who damages any library material may be subject to loss of library privileges and may be referred for disciplinary action. The library patron will be responsible for the replacement cost for the damaged materials plus a $20.00 processing fee.

RENEWALS/RECALLS/HOLDS

Renewals/Recalls

You can renew books and media twice unless the item has been requested by another library patron. Material may be renewed several ways:

  1. By phone at (203) 392-5756 
  2. In person at the Circulation desk
  3. Online

Library patrons who renew their material via the Web must go to  "Access Your Library Record." You now will need to have your University ID and password. Make sure that the material was actually renewed. Material cannot be renewed if a hold has been placed on the item or there are too many renewals. The screen should display the word "RENEWED" and also provide a new due date. Please contact the Circulation Desk if there are any questions.

All material checked out is subject to recall after two weeks when requested by another library patron. Reserve materials can be recalled immediately. Failure to return recalled material will result in an overdue fine of 50 cents per day, per item.

Holds

If you need library material from any of the libraries in the CSCU system currently checked out, you can place a "hold" on the item through the catalog. Your hold request will generate a recall notice that will be sent out to the library patron. Once the library material is returned to the library, you will receive an e-mail notification of its arrival. The item will be held at the Buley Library Circulation Desk for 10 working days. After 10 days, the material will be returned to our stacks or the CSCU library.

Books on Hold at the Circulation Desk

All material on hold will held for 24 hours. For special circumstances, library staff may approve a longer hold period, up to 72 hours. Please speak with a library staff member for additional information.

VIEWING YOUR LIBRARY RECORD

Viewing Your Library Record

All SCSU library patrons have access to their circulation records through the library’s online catalog. Library patrons will need their Campus Network Username and Password.  You can also create a  library PIN number but the best way is with your network username/password.

Your Patron Record allows you to do the Following:

  • View items that have been checked out, renewed, or recalled
  • View the status of items requested
  • View library fines and due dates for items
  • Renew books
  • Update your e-mail address

Other Library Services that Require a Network User Name and Password:

  • Request an intralibrary loan book from the CSCU system
  • Access our library’s databases and full-text journal articles from off-campus
  • Request Interlibrary Loan for books and journal articles that are owned by the CSCU library system

Reporting a Change of Address

Most changes in the address field will be updated each semester. All notices will be sent by e-mail to your SCSU account unless you provide us with a different e-mail service provider. If you’re not sure about your current address listing, contact us and we’ll check your library patron record.

Confidentiality

Buley Library will not release personal borrowing information to any individual or organization unless required by law or by University policy.