Book Reviews

Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.

Art & Architecture Complete is a comprehensive bibliographic database that provides indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications with full text access for many articles.

Advanced Search – enter keywords & select Document Type: Review

Advanced Search – enter keywords & select Document Type: Book Review

Use keywords + “book review"

Advanced Search – enter keywords & select Item Type: Reviews

CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.

Communication Source is a full-text research database for communication studies. It offers 654 active full-text communication journals and magazines valued at $153,544.26 and covers all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Communication Source is a full-text research database for communication studies. It offers 654 active full-text communication journals and magazines valued at $153,544.26 and covers all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Full text of articles published by ACM.

Education Research Complete covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Indexing, abstracting, and full-text content from journals, books, and conference papers.

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources on all levels of education and all aspects of the field. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Provides full text for more than 490 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world including journals, books, maps, government reports, conference papers, and theses and dissertations.

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Use instead of PubMed.

CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.

America: History & Life is a database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexing, abstracts and some full text from journals and books.

Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books and thousands of primary source documents.

An ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.

LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. Major areas of coverage include: Artificial intelligence. information management, library use and users, online information retrieval, technical services and much more.

Materials on libraries and information science from selected library journals, books, conference proceedings, library school theses, pamphlets, and book reviews. Includes English and non-English records.

Choice Reviews is a source of bibliographic reference and recommendation for both collection development and individual research. Choice Reviews and Choice publish 4,200 new reviews annually, contain over 200,000 reviews of academic monographs, and serve 2,400 institutions worldwide.

Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 251 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text literary database providing a complete collection of reference works across all genres and time periods. It contains thousands of poems, short stories, classic novels, plot summaries, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides.

Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Reproduces most entries from print Gale sources like Contemporary Literary Criticism.

Mathematical Reviews on the Web. MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.

RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) is a comprehensive guide to publications on music from all over the world. It includes citations to articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.

Current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher۪s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.

Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

From the American Psychological Association (APA). Definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains more than 140,000 articles from over 60 journals published by the APA, and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

American Psychological Association۪s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. The largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the early 1800s. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 2,400 periodicals in more than 27 languages.

ATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues. Includes article citations journals, essay citations from multi-author works, and book review citations.

BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today۪s most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

Search interface for journals and books from Elsevier, one of the world's premier publishers in science, technology, and medicine. We have a limited number of current journals in ScienceDirect (back to 1995), a few back files (up to 1995), and no books. Document Delivery may be available, contact the Reference Desk.

Find out who has cited who, and who has cited you. Access covers 1965-present. The Social Sciences Citation Index, part of the Web of Science, is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. It fully indexes over 1,950 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines, including anthropology, history, law, philosophy, political science, public health, psychology, social work, sociology, urban studies, women۪s studies, and more.

Features more than 2,066,400 records with subject headings from a 19,750+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 777 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 820 books and monographs, and full text for 13,947 conference papers.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts, a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports.