Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Young Adult Literature

This guide was created for ENG 372 (Young Adult Literature) offered by the Department of English at Southern Connecticut State University.

Reference Books

                                                                                                  

The books in the reference section cannot be checked out of the library. However, users can scan pages to print or download or email. A scanner is available on the first floor near the Research and Information Desk. A printer is available near the Reference stacks as well as in other areas on the main floor.

Click on each title to get more information about the book, including the call number to locate the book in the stacks.

ALA's guide to best reading (Young Adult Library Services Association)

America as story: historical fiction for middle and secondary schools

American historical fiction: an annotated guide to novels for adults and young adults

Anatomy of wonder: a critical guide to science fiction

ARBA in depth: children's and young adult titles

Authors and artists for young adults

Award-winning books for children and young adults: an annual guide

Best books for high school readers, grades 9-12

Best books for middle school and junior high readers: grades 6-9

Best books for middle school and junior high readers: grades 6-9. Supplement to the first edition

Best books for senior high readers

Best books for young adult readers

Best books for young teen readers, grades 7-10

Best new media, K-12: a guide to movies, subscription web sites, and educational software and games

Books in Spanish for children and young adults

Books in Spanish for children and young adults: an annotated guide series II

Booktalking the award winners. Children's retrospective volume

Characters from young adult literature

Characters in young adult literature

The children’s and young adult literature handbook: a research and reference guide

Children's book awards international: a directory of awards and winners from inception from 1990

Core collection for children and young adults

Dictionary of American young adult fiction, 1975-2001 books of recognized merit

Encyclopedia of the vampire, the living dead in myth, legend, and popular culture

Fantasy literature for children and young adults: a comprehensive guide

Fiction index for readers 10-16: subject access to over 8,200 books (1960-1990)

Fiction sequels for readers 10-16: an annotated bibliography of books in succession

Folk literature of the British Isles: readings for librarians, teachers, and those who work with children and young adults

Handbook of research on children’s and young adult literature

High interest books for teens: a guide to book reviews and biographical sources

Hit list for young adults 2: frequently challenged books

The Horn Book guide to children’s and young adult books

Literacy for the new millennium

Masterplots II: juvenile and young adult fiction series

Middle and junior high school library catalog

Our family, our friends, our world: an annotated guide to significant multicultural books for children and teenagers

Picture this: a picture book for young adults: a curriculum related annotated bibliography

Portraying persons with disabilities: an annotated bibliography of fiction for children and teenagers

Portraying persons with disabilities: an annotated bibliography of non-fiction for children and teenagers

Reading rants: a guide to books that rock

Recommended books in Spanish for children and young adults

A reference guide to historical fiction for children and young adults

Rip-roaring needs for reluctant readers

St. James guide to young adult writers

Serious about series: evaluations and annotations of teen fiction in paperback series

A state-by-state guide to children’s and young adult authors and illustrators

Thematic guide to popular nonfiction

Thematic guide to young adult literature

This land is our land: a guide to multicultural literature for children and young adults

Twins in children’s and young adult literature: an annotated bibliography

Writers for young adults: biographies master index

Writers for young adults. Supplement I

Young adult literature in the seventies: a selection of readings

Young people’s books in series: fiction and non-fiction, 1975-1991