Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Find Journals and Articles

This guide provides an overview of how to find articles and journals through Buley Library.

Find Articles

Looking for a Specific Article

In order to find a specific article, you should gather as much information about the article as you can, such as the article title, the primary author, the title of the journal where the article is published, as well as the volume, issue, and date of publication. 

Some good places to start your search:

You can paste an entire citation, or as much information as you have, into the search boxes of SouthernSearch and Google Scholar.  If you choose to use Article Finder, you should enter the information in the appropriate required fields of the search form.  The more information you enter, the more likely you are to find the article you want.

 

Browsing for an Article

If you are looking for an article on a particular topic:

  • Start by searching for keywords in SouthernSearch.  This will show you relevant articles from across most of our journal and database subscriptions.
  • If you need help deciding what terms to search, try our Search Strategy Builder.
  • Use the facets to limit search results. On the search results page, the menu on the left includes multiple options for filtering your results. You can select "peer-reviewed journals" to view only scholarly content or "full text online" to view results for content that you can view immediately. 

If we don't have full text access to the article you need, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan request and we will get the article for you from another library, if possible.

To narrow your results to a specific subject area, you can try searching in a subject specific a database.  Go to the A to Z Database List and select a subject from the drop down box to find the best database for your needs.

Video Tutorial

Watch the following video for an in depth overview of how to use SouthernSearch to find articles.

Find a Journal

Find a Specific Journal

Do you know the name of the journal you want to access?  On the library's homepage, select the "Search for Journals" tab to find a specific journal title.

Requesting a ScienceDirect Article

You may come across some articles that are part of the ScienceDirect collection that require you to request access in order to view the article.  These articles are not currently available through Buley Library's subscriptions, but if you submit a request, we can easily acquire the article for you.  If you submit a request, we will email you a PDF of article within 48 hours, but if you need it urgently, please let us know by including a note in the request form and we can try to rush the process.

You can tell the difference between an article that you can access right away yourself vs. one you will need to request by the information under the View It section of the record in SouthernSearch. For example, the journal Public Relations Review is partially available right away and partially available upon request. 

 

Difference between available and by request ScienceDirect collections

 

Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals

If you click on an article or journal title from your SouthernSearch results and see a link that looks like #1, in the orange box, that means the time range listed (in this case 2013-2017) will be available to you when you click the link that says "Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals."  If you are viewing a page in SouthernSearch for a specific article (rather than a whole journal) and you see a link that looks like this, that means you will be able to access the article right away.

 

Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals: Article by request

If you come across a record with a link that looks like #2, in the green box, that says "Article by request," that means we can get the article for you within 48 hours, but you have to fill out a request form to get access.

Once you click "Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals: Article by request" to get to the journal page, follow the instructions in the note (click "get access," then "request document").

 

View of Elsevier article page with Get Access button

 

Clicking "Get Access" will open a window with a "Request Document" button.  Click this button to fill out the request form, which looks like this:

 

The order form to request a ScienceDirect article

 

If you need immediate access to the article, please include this information in the Further details section and we will do our best to get the article to you ASAP.  You will be emailed a PDF of your requested article.

 

The get access option will only appear if you access the journal or article through the library site.  If you find an article on Google or Google Scholar that you are interested in, be sure to search for it in SouthernSearch or using the Google Scholar tab on the library main page to find out if the library has access.

 

If you have any questions about this process, please email Hayley Battaglia (battagliah1@southernct.edu).  If you submitted a request and would like to follow up on its status, please email Jamie Aschenbach (aschenbachj1@southernct.edu)