Finding Library Resources (Books, articles, etc.)
- Off-campus Access & Library PINInformation on logging into the library databases (articles, etc.) from off campus
- Electronic BooksThe Library subscribes to hundreds of online books that are full text and searchable.
- WorldCat.orgSearch the contents of hundreds of library catalogs and see if a book (and other material) is available in a library near you
- Reference materials onlineDictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, etc.
- Buley Library DatabasesPortal to the library's online resources, mostly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, but also books, images, music, and more.
- Journal LocatorCheck if a journal article is available online (or in our print collections) by entering the Journal Title.
- Open Access (Free Web) Resources on the Internet
- Requesting material not available onlineCirculation and Interlibrary Loan policies for online students
Library Services for Online Students and Faculty
CSU Intercampus Loans - any circulating (can be checked out) item in the CONSULS Library Catalog can be sent to any CSU library. You can also visit any CSU library and check books out using your SCSU ID (Hoot Loot Card).
Interlibrary Loan - photocopies of materials not available online are available to distance students. Request articles, book chapters, reports, etc., using the ILL forms. Call (203-392-7038) or email (parisb1@southernct.edu) Beth Paris for more information. Be sure to check the Journal Locator for online availability of journal articles before using ILL.
Limited access to SCSU books is available to distance students. Check the Access Services for Distance Education page for full policies.
Help and Instruction
Faculty - contact the Distance Education Librarian for information on "embedding" a librarian in your online course and using full text linking from your online course to our full text resources. Library Services for Online/Distance Faculty
Students - contact the Distance Education Librarian or a Subject Specialist Librarian for help finding references or using the Library website.
More Library Policies and Services...
Getting Help
Contact the Library Coordinator for Distance Learning, Rebecca Hedreen, using the contact information on the right.
See also Distance Education Librarian's Weblog, Frequently Answered Questions. (See the end of this page for the most recent posts.)
- Instant Messenging with MSN Messenger (hedreenr1@southernct.edu)
or AIM (disedlibrarian) (MSN and AIM both have web interfaces--no downloads required--at MSN WebMessenger and AIM Express.)
- Skype (Internet telephone--VOIP and chat) (delibrarian)
- One-on-one online webchat (no account required)
- Co-Browsing--"Share" the web browser for a tutorial session on searching, or detailed help on a topic. IM or email me to set up a session.
- Office: Buley Library, Rm. 214
- Phone: (203) 392-5753
- Email: hedreenr1@southernct.edu
- Other contact options
Reference Desk - the Reference Desk is staffed most hours when the library is open. Messages can be left by email, voicemail, or text messaging. Subject Specialist Librarians - call, email, or use the online form for one-on-one help in a specific subject.
Links
- CONSULS Library Catalog
- Subject Guides
- Library PINA Library PIN/Password is needed for remote access to the library online databases. First time users can create a new PIN. Please contact the Circulation Department if you have forgotten your PIN ("Invalid PIN" error message). See the Off-campus access page for more information.
- Video Tutorial for Library PIN
- Library Hours and Phone Numbers
- Open Access Resources GuideFree web resources suitable for instruction, research, and scholarship.
- Other Library Catalogs in CT and beyond
- EndNote Web Citation Manager
- SCSU Blackboard Vista courseware
- SCSU's Copyright Information Site
Sciences & Distance Learning Librarian |
Frequently Questioned Answers blog
The most recent posts from the DE blog. (Subscribe to Frequently Questioned Answers by Email)






Loading...
Loading...
