SCSU Hilton C. Buley Library: *Nursing*: Patient Education

Patient Handouts and Info

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Select "Consumer/Patient Teaching Materials" from the Publication Type menu under the search box
CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Select "Patient Education Handout" from the Publication Type menu below the search box.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Use instead of PubMed.

Medline Plus
Consumer/patient-oriented health information from the National Library of Medicine and NIH, in both English and Spanish with selected resources in over 40 languages.
Genetics Home Reference
provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.
AIDSource
"One source for HIV/AIDS information" from the National Library of Medicine
Merck Manual Consumer Edition
Some of the best quality information on the web from the venerable (and now updated monthly) Merck Manual. The News section addresses medical information that has made the news--without the hype.
Mayo Clinic
Another popular, patient-oriented website with good quality medical info.
Medical Library Association (MLA) top 10 websites for help with "medspeak"
They particularly recommend Medline Plus in Spanish for Spanish speakers, and they have a useful tutorial for evaluating medical info on the web.

"Health Literacy" from Medline
Medline uses the term "Health Literacy" as a subject heading. Add your own additional terms to this search by clicking on the link and either adding terms to the search boxes or selecting options on the left.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, allied health, peer reviewed, research, nurse, school health
CINAHL Complete is a resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Indexing, abstracts, and full-text from nursing and allied health journals. The base CINAHL with Full Text is paid for by ResearchIT and the CT State Library.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Business, Health, Medicine, History, Literature, Language, Science, Technology, Social Sciences, Arts
Includes full text dissertations and theses as well as the indexing and abstracts from Dissertation Abstracts back to 1637.