Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Nursing*

Nursing information in the library, from basic knowledge to specific types of research articles to video tutorials

Featured E-Resource

Selected new books (ebooks & print)

Look these titles up in SouthernSearch for links and/or locations

The power of ten : a conversational approach to tackling the top ten priorities in nursing / Susan B. Hassmiller, Jennifer S. Mensik. Second edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Analyzing and conceptualizing the theoretical foundations of nursing / Janice M. Morse, PhD (Nurs), PhD (Anthro), FCAHS, FAAN.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Women's health care in advanced practice nursing / Ivy M. Alexander [and four others]. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Transformational leadership in nursing : from expert clinician to influential leader / Elaine S. Marshall, Marion E. Broome, editors. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Watson's caring in the digital world : a guide for caring when interacting, teaching, and learning in cyberspace / Kathleen Sitzman, Jean Watson.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Evaluation and testing in nursing education / Marilyn H. Oermann, Kathleen B. Gaberson. Fifth edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing history for contemporary role development / Sandra B. Lewenson, Annemarie McAllister, Kylie M. Smith, editors.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Implementing the evidence-based practice (EBP) competencies in healthcare  : a practical guide to improving quality, safety, and outcomes / Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, Lynn Gallagher-Ford, Ellen Fineout-Overholt.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Home care nursing : surviving in an ever-changing care environment / Tina M. Marrelli.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Feel the pull : creating a culture of nursing excellence / Gen Guanci. Third edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Measurement in nursing and health research / Carolyn Feher Waltz, Ora Lea Strickland, Elizabeth R. Lenz. Fifth edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost ebook Collection: Full Text 
Nursing with a message : public health demonstration projects in New York City / Patricia D'Antonio.   Availability:Electronic version at OAPEN Free: Full Text 
Availability:Electronic version at DOAB Directory of Open Access Books: Full Text 
Comprehensive systematic review for advanced practice nursing / Cheryl Holly, Susan Salmond, Maria Saimbert. Second edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost ebook Collection: Full Text 
Transition from clinician to educator : a practical approach / Maria C. Fressola, G. Elaine Patterson.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost ebook Collection: Full Text 
Florence Nightingale : the courageous life of the legendary nurse / Catherine Reef.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: J-NonFic; RT37.N5 R44 2017  (1 copy, 1 available)
Leadership for evidence-based innovation in nursing and health professions / edited by Sandra Davidson, PhD, MSN, RN, Assistant Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, Daniel Weberg, PhD, MHI, BSN, RN, Director, Nursing Innovation, Kaiser Permanente, Oakland, California, Auxiliary Faculity, College of Nursing, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, Tim Porter-O'Grady, DM, EdD, ScD, APRN, FAAN, Senior Partner, Tim Porter-O'Grady Associates, Inc., Atlanta, Georgia, Associate Professor, Leadership Scholar, College of Nursing and Health Innovation, Arizona State University, Phoenix, Arizona, Kathy Malloch, PhD, MBA, RN, FAAN, President, KMLS, LLC, Glendale, Arizona, Professor of Practice, College of Nursing and Health Innovation, Arizona State University, Phoenix, Arizona, Clinical Professor, College of Nursing, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT89 .D38 2017  (1 copy, 1 available)
Nursing research using case studies / Mary de Chesnay, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at Online: Full Text 
On Theriac to Piso, attributed to Galen : a critical edition with translation and commentary / by Robert Leigh.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
The nurse manager's guide to budgeting & finance / Al Rundio. Second edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurse staffing within the veterans health administration : recruitment, retention and qualification issues / Eugene Glover, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurse's legal handbook   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Clinical manual of palliative care psychiatry   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
A handbook for student nurses : introducing key issues relevant for practice / Wendy Benbow and Gill Jordan.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Mastering patient and family education : a healthcare handbook for success / Lori C. Marshall, PhD, MSN, RN.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Staff educator's guide to professional development : assessing and enhancing nurse competency / Alvin D. Jeffery, MSN, RN-BC, CCRN-K, FNP-BC, Anne Longo, PhD, MBA, RN-BC, NEA-BC, Angela Nienaber, MSN, RN-BC.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurse on board : planning your path to the boardroom / Connie Curran, EdD, RN, FAAN.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
The nurse's step-by-step guide to transitioning to the professional nurse role / Cynthia M. Thomas, EDD, MS, RNC, Constance E. McIntosh, EDD, MBA, RN, Jennifer S. Mensik, PHD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing research using case studies / Mary de Chesnay, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurse burnout : combating stress in nursing / Suzanne Waddill-Goad.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Healthy Places, Healthy People, 3rd Edition [electronic resource].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Fast facts for the nurse preceptor : keys to providing a successful preceptorship in a nutshell / Maggie Ciocco.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Professional practice models in nursing / Joanne R. Duffy, PhD, RN, FAAN ; contributors, Shauna Bendix [and twenty-one others].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing concept analysis : applications to research and practice / Joyce J. Fitzpatrick, Geraldine McCarthy, editors.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Practice-based clinical Inquiry in nursing for DNP and PhD research : looking beyond traditional methods   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Translation of evidence into nursing and health care   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Clinical nurse leader certification review / Cynthia R. King, Sally Gerard, editors. Second edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Foundations of professional nursing : care of self and others / Katherine Renpenning, Susan Gebhardt Taylor, Judith M. Pickens.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Clinical reasoning and care coordination in advanced practice nursing / RuthAnne Kuiper, Daniel J. Pesut, Tamatha E. Arms.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurses as leaders : evolutionary visions of leadership / William Rosa, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Annual review of nursing research. Volume 34, 2016, Nursing ethics: vulnerable populations and cHanging systems of care / volume editors, Susanne W. Gibbons, Michaela R. Shafer.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
The career handoff : a healthcare leader's guide to knowledge & wisdom transfer across generations / [edited by] Kathy Malloch, Timothy Porter-O'Grady.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Teaching cultural competence in nursing and health care : inquiry, action, and innovation / Marianne R. Jeffreys, EdD, RN ; acquisitions editor, Joseph Morita. 3rd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Clinical nurse specialist toolkit : a guide for the new clinical nurse specialist / Melanie Duffy, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Susan Dresser, MSN, APRN-BC CCRN, Janet S. Fulton, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN, editors ; contributors Katie Brush [and thirty two others]. 2nd edition Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Mastering patient and family education : a healthcare handbook for success / Lori C. Marshall, PhD, MSN, RN.   Availability:Physical version temporarily at SCSU: New; RT90 .M37 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT90 .M37 2016 
Building and sustaining a hospital-based nursing research program / Nancy M. Albert, PhD, CCNS, CCRN, NE-BC, FAHA, FCCM, FAAN, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Philosophy of science for nursing practice : concepts and applications / Michael D. Dahnke, PhD, H. Michael Dreher, PhD, RN, FAAN. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing's greatest leaders : a history of activism / David Anthony Forrester, editor ; contributors, Barbara Ann Caldwell [and fourteen others].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Teaching in nursing : a guide for faculty / [edited by] Diane M. Billings, Judith A. Halstead. Fifth edition. Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT71 .T336 2016  (1 copy, 0 available)
Nursing informatics for the advanced practice nurse [electronic resource] : patient safety, quality, outcomes, and interprofessionalism / Susan McBride, Mari Tietze, editors.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost ebook Collection: Full Text 
Writing for publication in nursing / Marilyn H. Oermann,  PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA. Third edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Developing a program of research in nursing / Cheryl Tatano Beck, DNSc, CNM, FAAN.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Fast facts for the clinical nurse manager : managing a changing workplace in a nutshell / Barbara Fry. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Public health nursing : population-centered health care in the community / [edited by] Marcia Stanhope, PhD, RN, FAAN, Education and Practice Consultant and Professor Emerita, College of Nursing, University of Kentucky, Lexington, Kentucky, Jeanette Lancaster, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Dean Emerita, School of Nursing, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia. 9th edition. Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT98 .C6562 2016  (1 copy, 0 available)
Clinical nurse specialist toolkit : a guide for the new clinical nurse specialist / Melanie Duffy, MSN, RN, CCRN, CCNS, Susan Dresser, MSN, APRN-BC CCRN, Janet S. Fulton, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF, FAAN, editors. Second edition. Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT82.8 .C576 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Nurse on board : planning your path to the boardroom / Connie Curran, EdD, RN, FAAN.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT89.3 .C86 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Enhancing staff retention in person-centered care environments for older adults : how to create and implement a comprehensive orientation program / by Janine M. Lange, M.S.N., R.N.-B.C. ; foreword by Vickie G. Rodgers, M.S.N., R.N.-B.C.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT120.L64 L36 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
American Indian health and nursing / Margaret P. Moss, editor ; contributors, Nicolle L. Gonzales, MSN, RN, CNM [and twelve others].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Fast facts for evidence-based practice in nursing : implementing EBP in a nutshell / Maryann Godshall. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing informatics for the advanced practice nurse : patient safety, quality, outcomes, and interprofessionalism / Susan McBride, Mari Tietze.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Expert clinician to novice nurse educator : learning from first-hand narratives / Jeanne Merkle Sorrell, Pamela Rubel Cangelosi.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Population-based nursing : concepts and competencies for advanced practice / Ann L. Cupp Curley, Patty A. Vitale, editors. Second edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Project management for the advanced practice nurse / Carolyn Sipes.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing : the ultimate study guide / Nadia R. Singh. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Assessing progress on the Institute of Medicine report The future of nursing / Institute of Medicine (U.S.).   Availability:Electronic version at NCBI Bookshelf: Full Text 
Teaching in nursing : a guide for faculty / [edited by] Diane M. Billings, Judith A. Halstead. Fifth edition.  
Oxford handbook of critical care nursing / Heather Baid, Fiona Creed, Jessica Hargreaves. Second edition. Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT120.I5 A36 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Caregiving in the illness context / Tracey A. Revenson, Professor of Psychology, Hunter College and the Graduate Center, City University New York, USA [and six others]   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT61 .R48 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
On the politics of ignorance in nursing and healthcare : knowing ignorance / Amélie Perron and Trudy Rudge.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT41 .P468 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Routledge international handbook of advanced quantitative methods in nursing research / edited by Susan J. Henly.   Availability:Electronic version at Online: Full Text 
Exploring evidence-based practice : debates and challenges in nursing / edited by Martin Lipscomb.   Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT51 .E97 2016  (1 copy, 1 available)
Defining excellence in simulation programs / edited by Janice C. Palaganas, PhD, RN, NP, Director, Institute for Medical Simulation, Principal Faculty, Center for Medical Simulation, Massachusetts General Hospital, Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine, Harvard Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts [and three others]. First edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Primary nursing : person-centered care delivery system design / Susan Wessel & Marie Manthey.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Bedside matters : the transformation of Canadian nursing, 1900-1990 / Kathryn McPherson.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Health promotion in nursing practice / Nola J. Pender, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor Emerita, University of Michigan, School of Nursing, Ann Arbor, Michigan, Carolyn L. Murdaugh, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor Emerita and Adjunct Professor, University of Arizona, College of Nursing, Tucson, Arizona, Mary Ann Parsons, PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor Emerita and Dean Emerita, University of South Carolina, College of Nursing, Columbia, South Carolina. Seventh edition. Availability:Physical version at SCSU: Stacks; RT67 .P56 2015 
Availability:Physical version temporarily at SCSU: New; RT67 .P56 2015  (1 copy, 0 available)
Nurse-led health clinics : operations, policy, and opportunities / Tine Hansen-Turton, Susan Sherman, Eunice S. King, editors ; contributors, Geraldine Bednash [and twenty three others].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Fast facts for the new nurse practitioner : what you really need to know in a nutshell / Nadine M. Aktan. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Global health nursing in the 21st century / Suellen Breakey [and three others], editors.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Advanced practice nursing : core concepts for professional role development / Kathryn A. Blair, PhD, FNP-BC, FAANP, Michaelene P. Jansen, PhD, RN-C, FNP-C, GNP-BC, FAANP, editors ; acquisitions editor, Margaret Zuccarini ; production editor, Kris Parris ; contributors, Melissa Avery, PhD, RN, CNM, FACNM, FAAN [and twenty two others]. 5th ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Annual Review of Nursing Research, Volume 33, 2015 [electronic resource] : Traumatic Brain Injury   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
A handbook for student nurses : introducing key issues relevant for practice / Wendy Benbow, Gill Jordan. 2015-16 edition. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Teaching in nursing and role of the educator : the complete guide to best practice in teaching, evaluation, and curriculum development / Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Clinical teaching strategies in nursing / Kathleen B. Gaberson, Marilyn H. Oermann, Teresa Shellenbarger. 4th ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing research using grounded theory : qualitative designs and methods / Mary de Chesnay, editor ; contributors, Davina Banner [and thirteen others].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing research using life history : qualitative designs and methods in nursing / Mary de Chesnay, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Global health nursing : narratives from the field / Christina A. Harlan, editor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
The nurse professional : leveraging your education for transition into practice / Deborah Dolan Hunt.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Tales from Kentucky nurses / William Lynwood Montell.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Encyclopedia of nursing education / Mary Jane Smith, Roger Carpenter, Joyce Fitzpatrick, editors ; acquisitions editor Margaret Zuccarini.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Curriculum development and evaluation in nursing / Sarah B. Keating ; acquisitions editor, Margaret Zuccarini. 3rd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
You can teach advanced med-surg nursing! : the authoritative guide and toolkit for the advanced medical-surgical nursing clinical instructor / Mary A. Miller, Deborah C. Wirwicz ; acquisitions editor, Elizabeth Nieginski.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nursing case studies in caring : across the practice spectrum  / Charlotte D. Barry, Shirley C. Gordon, Beth M. King, [editors].   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Nurses and disasters : global, historical case studies / Arlene W. Keeling, Barbra Mann Wall, editors.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
The nurse's reality shift : using history to transform the future / Leslie Neal-Boylan.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Mentorship in Healthcare [electronic resource]. 2nd ed. Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
A nurse's step-by-step guide to writing your dissertation or capstone / Karen Roush ; Sigma Theta Tau International.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Future directions of credentialing research in nursing : workshop summary / Margaret A. McCoy and Victoria D. Weisfeld, rapporteurs ; Board on Health Sciences Policy ; Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
DNP capstone projects : exemplars of excellence in practice / Barbara A. Anderson, Joyce M. Knestrick, Rebeca Barroso, editors ; acquisitions editor, Margaret Zuccarini.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Fast facts for the medical-surgical nurse : clinical orientation in a nutshell / Maggie Ciocco.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text 
Reflective organizations : on the front lines of QSEN & reflective practice implementation / Gwen Sherwood, Sara Horton-Deutsch ; cover designer, Rebecca Batchelor.   Availability:Electronic version at EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection (North America): Full Text