Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote Web: Sign up for an account

The basics of using EndNote Web to manage and save citations and references.

Why do I need an account?

You need to sign up for an individual account to keep your own references. The library provides this service as part of our online subscriptions, but your account is your own to manage.

If you don't want to save your citations, just format them, see the Alternatives to EndNote Web tab.

Computer Set-up Guide

Use this checklist to set up your own computer to make best use of EndNote Web.

EndNote Web Links

Signing up

  1. Go to MyEndNoteWeb (off campus link). If you get a Security Certificate Error, click through to Continue or to Accept the Security Exception. (See what this process looks like in Firefox.)
  2. In MyEndNoteWeb, click, 'Sign Up'. If you get a Security Certificate Error, click through to Continue or to Accept the Security Exception. (See what this process looks like in Firefox.)
  3. You can use any email address to register. This email address will be both your login name and your address for resetting passwords.
  4. Once you are registered, you can go directly to the EndNote Web page anytime and from anywhere: http://myendnoteweb.com/
  5. Once a year, you must log in from campus or through the MyEndNoteWeb off campus link, to prove that you are still associated with the university. If you get a message about 'roaming' being blocked, log in from campus or through the off campus links.

Installing the Tools

In order to take full advantage of EndNote Web, you should, if possible, install the toolbars and plugins available. There are 2:

  • Cite While You Write plugin for MS Word and Internet Explorer
    This will allow you to add citations directly into an MS Word document, in your selected format. It also includes the browser plugin for Internet Explorer, which helps you import citations directly into EndNote Web from databases and websites.
  • EndNote extension for Firefox
    This extension helps you import citations into EndNote Web from databases and websites.

If you use Internet Explorer as your primary browser, all you need to do is install the Cite While You Write plugin for MS Word. If you use Firefox, you'll need the extension.

The downloads are available at the bottom of the page once you have logged into EndNote Web, or from the Help pages.

If you do not use MS Word for word processing, you can still use EndNote Web for formatting. You can either format the bibliography in EndNote Web as a separate document (and paste it into your paper) or you can use the "temporary citation layout" and upload your paper into EndNote Web for automatic formatting. Please see the instructions for the temporary citation layout.

If you do not use either Internet Explorer or Firefox as your web browser, you can still import citations into EndNote Web. The EBSCO databases will still export citations directly to EndNote Web. For other databases, you may need to download the text file with your citations in EndNote or RIS format, and import them into EndNote Web.

For Alumni

Thomson/Reuters, the providers of EndNote Web, require that all users of campus subscriptions log on from "authorized" computers every 12 months. An "authorized" computer is one on campus or one accessing Web of Science through the database login. Since alumni do not have off campus database access (see alumni/guest library privileges), the only alumni access to EndNote Web via an authorized computer is on campus.

If you cannot come to campus, you may wish to investigate a personal copy of the EndNote software, or the services on the Alternatives to EndNote Web tab.