Drama Criticism (SouthernSearch) Use the limiter on the left to focus your search
This Drama Criticism list was compiled by Winnie Shyam
American Drama Criticism: Interpretations 1890-1977
Lists interpretations of American plays in books and periodicals. Entries are arranged alphabetically by dramatist. The titles of the plays appear in alphabetical order under the dramatist's name.
American Plays and Musicals on Screen: 650 Stage Productions and Their Film and Television Adaptations
American Playwrights since 1945: A Guide to Scholarship, Criticism and Performance
Includes bibliographic essays, production histories and critical sources on modern American playwrights.
British and Irish Dramatists Since World War II. Fourth Series
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Cambridge Guide to World Theatre
Contains factual information on every aspect of drama. Includes information on playwrights.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
A Companion to Twentieth-century American Drama
Contemporary Dramatists
Contains information on living dramatists of the English stage. Includes biography, a list of the dramatist's works, and a signed critical essay.
Critical Companion to William Shakespeare: A Literaery Reference to His Life and Works
Critical Survey of Drama
Each entry includes a biography of the dramatist, principal works, critical analysis and an annotated bibliography. Major dramatists from Marlowe on are included. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author. The final volume contains lengthy essays on various dramatic genres by country and time period.
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama
Contains information on Greek and Roman drama as works of great literature.
The Crown Guided to the World's Great Plays
Contains stories, plots, history and criticism of great plays from ancient Greece to modern times.
Drama Criticism
Contains biographical and critical information on the most widely studied dramatic works of the world's literature. Has cumulative author and title index as well as a nationality index.
Dramatic Criticism Index
Index to criticism on twentieth century American and foreign playwrights. Each playwright has a general section followed by references to specific plays.
European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975
An index to criticism of classical and contemporary plays by European dramatists excluding Shakespeare. Arrangement is alphabetical by playwright.
Historical Dictionary of French Theater
Historical Dictionary of German Theater
Historical Dictionary of Postmodernist Literature and Theater
Latin American Dramatists. First Series
Major Modern Dramatists
Covers the major, twentieth century dramatists of the world. Provides history and criticism of their works.
Masterpieces of 20th-century American Drama
Masterplots II. Drama Series
Entries for dramatic works of English language playwrights of the twentieth century contain a brief biography, summary of the plot, a discussion of the play and the dramatist's work and a critical essay.
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: an International Reference Work in Five Volumes
Contains information on world dramatists, the literature of the theater and aspects of stagecraft and production around the world.
Modern Drama: A Checklist of Critical Literature on 20th century Plays
Critical articles that have appeared in books and journals. Arranged alphabetically by playwright.
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980: an international biography
Lists international publications on world drama. This list is supplemented each year in the journal Modern Drama.
More Black American Playwrights: a Bibliography
Lists criticism of black playwrights and their works from periodicals and journals. Companion volume to Black American Playwrights, 1800 to the Present: a Bibliography.
Nineteenth Century British Dramatists
Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Provides information on dramatists from around the world and international theater companies. Brief biographies are also included.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
Performing Arts Biographies Master Index
Provides more than 270,000 citations to over 100 biographical reference sources in the performing arts. A key to tile codes of works indexed is printed on the end sheets. Alphabetical arrangement.
Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama
Contains signed essays on the history and development of the theater as well as information on plays and playwrights.
Renaissance Drama provides a comprehensive account of the drama of early modern England produced for the professional theatre. It brings new insights by exploring the plays in their relation to the culture and society of the period.
Twentieth Century American Dramatists. Fifth Series
Twentieth Century French Dramatists
Western Drama Through the Ages: a student reference guide
This two-volume reference guide offers 45 easy-to-read essays that cover theater history in Europe and the Americas from 500 BCE to the present.
American Drama Criticism: Interpretations 1890-1977
Lists interpretations of American plays in books and periodicals. Entries are arranged alphabetically by dramatist. The titles of the plays appear in alphabetical order under the dramatist's name.
American Plays and Musicals on Screen: 650 Stage Productions and Their Film and Television Adaptations
American Playwrights since 1945: A Guide to Scholarship, Criticism and Performance
Includes bibliographic essays, production histories and critical sources on modern American playwrights.
British and Irish Dramatists Since World War II. Fourth Series
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Cambridge Guide to World Theatre
Contains factual information on every aspect of drama. Includes information on playwrights.
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
A Companion to Twentieth-century American Drama
Contemporary Dramatists
Contains information on living dramatists of the English stage. Includes biography, a list of the dramatist's works, and a signed critical essay.
Critical Companion to William Shakespeare: A Literaery Reference to His Life and Works
Critical Survey of Drama
Each entry includes a biography of the dramatist, principal works, critical analysis and an annotated bibliography. Major dramatists from Marlowe on are included. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author. The final volume contains lengthy essays on various dramatic genres by country and time period.
Crowell's Handbook of Classical Drama
Contains information on Greek and Roman drama as works of great literature.
The Crown Guided to the World's Great Plays
Contains stories, plots, history and criticism of great plays from ancient Greece to modern times.
Drama Criticism
Contains biographical and critical information on the most widely studied dramatic works of the world's literature. Has cumulative author and title index as well as a nationality index.
Dramatic Criticism Index
Index to criticism on twentieth century American and foreign playwrights. Each playwright has a general section followed by references to specific plays.
European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975
An index to criticism of classical and contemporary plays by European dramatists excluding Shakespeare. Arrangement is alphabetical by playwright.
Historical Dictionary of French Theater
Historical Dictionary of German Theater
Historical Dictionary of Postmodernist Literature and Theater
Latin American Dramatists. First Series
Major Modern Dramatists
Covers the major, twentieth century dramatists of the world. Provides history and criticism of their works.
Masterpieces of 20th-century American Drama
Masterplots II. Drama Series
Entries for dramatic works of English language playwrights of the twentieth century contain a brief biography, summary of the plot, a discussion of the play and the dramatist's work and a critical essay.
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: an International Reference Work in Five Volumes
Contains information on world dramatists, the literature of the theater and aspects of stagecraft and production around the world.
Modern Drama: A Checklist of Critical Literature on 20th century Plays
Critical articles that have appeared in books and journals. Arranged alphabetically by playwright.
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980: an international biography
Lists international publications on world drama. This list is supplemented each year in the journal Modern Drama.
More Black American Playwrights: a Bibliography
Lists criticism of black playwrights and their works from periodicals and journals. Companion volume to Black American Playwrights, 1800 to the Present: a Bibliography.
Nineteenth Century British Dramatists
Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Provides information on dramatists from around the world and international theater companies. Brief biographies are also included.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
Performing Arts Biographies Master Index
Provides more than 270,000 citations to over 100 biographical reference sources in the performing arts. A key to tile codes of works indexed is printed on the end sheets. Alphabetical arrangement.
Reader's Encyclopedia of World Drama
Contains signed essays on the history and development of the theater as well as information on plays and playwrights.
Renaissance Drama Renaissance Drama provides a comprehensive account of the drama of early modern England produced for the professional theatre. It brings new insights by exploring the plays in their relation to the culture and society of the period.
Twentieth Century American Dramatists. Fifth Series
Twentieth Century French Dramatists
Western Drama Through the Ages: a student reference guide
This two-volume reference guide offers 45 easy-to-read essays that cover theater history in Europe and the Americas from 500 BCE to the present.