Plays and Monologues can be published in different ways:
1. As a separate book or playscript.
Search SouthernSearch by Title (of Play) or try Keyword (for example: "playscript," "monologues," or "acting and auditions") or by Author
2. In a collection or anthology (as in a collection of one authors work, as a collection of plays written by various authors, as a collection of American or British plays, plays by women, etc.)
3. In a database, journal or magazine, on the Internet
4. Buley library subscribes to some databases that contain the full-text of plays.
5. Some (older) plays can be found on the Internet, or you can use an index or website to find the source containing the play and then locate that source through your local library or through interlibrary loan. Internet resources such as the Gutenberg Project, the Internet Archive, and the Hathi Trust Digital Library will also have plays in full text.
Library Resources for Plays include:
Play Index (1800-1992)
Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections Published since 1900 (2011)
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (limited playscripts)
Oxford Dictionary of Plays information on 1,000 plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of the title, author, date of writing, date of first performance, genre, setting, and composition of cast; there is also a summary of the play's plot, and a brief commentary.
Selected Collections of Plays:
American Political Plays after 911
Seven Black Plays: the Theodore Ward Prize for African American Playwriting, Chuck Smith
Kilroy's List Volume One: 97 Monologues and Scenes by Female and Trans Playwrights
The best 10-minute plays, 2012 (Hilton C. Buley Library Main Circulating Stacks / Call Number: PN6110.7 .B476 2012 )
Internet sources for plays:
Alternative Canon "Non-Western plays, plays by Black, Indigenous, people of color, by women and by queer writers from before 1945."
American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920 (Library of Congress)
Association for Hispanic Classical Theatre
50 Playwright Project "The 50 Playwrights Project supports Latin@ playwrights by creating digital resources, disseminating research, and supporting new play development."
The Project Gutenberg Ebook of One-Act Plays
Classics, Greece and Rome (MIT)
The Kilroys List: " An annual list featuring new plays by women,
trans, and non-binary writers of the American theatre"
Playscripts Collection from HathiTrust
Austrialian Plays (free subscription)
Perseus Digital Library (Tufts)