Skip to main content

United States History - Primary Resources: World War II 1939-1945

World War II 1939-1945

Life magazine photographer Alfred Eisenstadt snapped the shot of the young sailor,
ecstatic with news that World War II was finally over, kissing the pretty nurse in the middle of Times Square on Aug. 14, 1945.

 


After the Day of Infamy - "Man on the Street Interviews" Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor

Headline:  Allied Forces Help French to Rid Capital of Nazis, The New York Times, August 25, 1944

American Battle Monuments Commission - World War II Listing

Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar

The Aerial Reconnaissance Archives - England

Army Digital Collections

The Avalon Project at Yale Law  School - World War II : Documents

The Avalon Project: 20th Century Documents (Yale Law School)

Brief History of World War Two Advertising Campaigns

A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents

Dear Home Letters from World War II

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project

Experiencing War - Asian Pacific Americans: Going for Broke

Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Document From Western Europe --Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations (Brigham Young University)

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

German Propaganda Archive (Calvin College)

Historic Government Publications from World War II: A Digital Library (Southern Methodist University)

Historical Text Archive: World War II (Don Mabry)

History Channel Speeches

Holocaust - Internet Modern History Sourcebook

The Homefront During World War II

Imperial War Museum Collections (Imperial War Museum, London)

Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar

Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War II

JARDA - Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives

Mapping the Holocaust

The Most Famous Poster

National Archives and Records Administration

Nazism - Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Normandy

A People at War/ National Archives

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection World War II Maps

Pictures of African Americans During World War II

Pictures of World War II/ National Archives

Powers of Persuasion - Posters from World War II/ National Archives and Records Administration

The Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II

United States Foreign Policy Timeline

U.S. Army in World War II Series

U.S. Army Military History Institute

U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum

Women Come to the Front: Journalists, Photographers, and Broadcasters During World War II

World War I and World War II Posters:Prints and Photographs Division

Voices of World War II: Experiences from the Front and at Home

World War II: A Digital Library

World War II: Asia/Pacific [Maps]

World War II: Europe [Maps]

World War II: Internet Modern History Sourcebook

World War II Maps by Date

World War II Primary Source Document Collection

World War II Records

World War II Resources

World War II Resources/Web Genocide Documentation Centre

World War II Timeline

World War II Military Situation Maps 1944-1945

World War II Bibliography: Primary Sources - Yale University