Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States History - Primary Resources

World War II 1939-1945

Life magazine photographer Alfred Eisenstadt snapped the shot of the young sailor,
ecstatic with news that World War II was finally over, kissing the pretty nurse in the middle of Times Square on Aug. 14, 1945.

 


After the Day of Infamy - "Man on the Street Interviews" Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor

Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar

Brief History of World War Two Advertising Campaigns

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project

Experiencing War - Asian Pacific Americans: Going for Broke

EuroDocs: Primary Historical Document From Western Europe --Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations (Brigham Young University)

Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies

German Propaganda Archive (Calvin College)

Holocaust - Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Imperial War Museum Collections (Imperial War Museum, London)

Ansel Adams’s Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar

Japanese Relocation and Internment During World War II

National Archives and Records Administration

Nazism - Internet Modern History Sourcebook

A People at War/ National Archives

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection World War II Maps

Pictures of African Americans During World War II

Powers of Persuasion - Posters from World War II/ National Archives and Records Administration

The Rutgers Oral History Archives of World War II

United States Foreign Policy Timeline

U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum

Women Come to the Front: Journalists, Photographers, and Broadcasters During World War II

World War II: Internet Modern History Sourcebook

World War II Primary Source Document Collection

World War II Records

World War II Resources

World War II Military Situation Maps 1944-1945