Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States History - Primary Resources

African-American History Primary Sources


Amistad at Sea

 

Aboard the Underground Railroad

Abolition - 13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

About.com African American History

Africa South of the Sahara

African-American Civil War Memorial

African American History in the American West

African American Inventors

African American Odyssey

African-American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the A.P. Murray Collection 1818-1907

African-American Religion

African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century

Africana & Black History - New York Public Library Digital Gallery - Several thousand items ranging from historical documents and rare visual materials to contemporary photo-journalism, relating to the entirety of African American history from the 16th century to the present; selected in the course of developing the NYPL web site"African American Migration Experience."

Africans in America PBS

Afro-American Sources in Virginia: A Guide to Manuscripts

Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1718-1820

Always There: The African American Presence in American Quilts

The American Colonization Society, 1817

American Identities: African-American

American-Women's History: A Research Guide/African-American Women

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record

American Slave Narratives: An On-Line Anthology

The Amistad Case

Amistad - Federal court records

Before Freedom Came: African American Life in the Antebellum South

Black History: Chronological Topics

Black New Yorkers

Black Panthers Click on title and then click on Library of Congress call number to access full text.

Black Pioneers of the Pacific Northwest

The Black Press - Colored American, selections from one year, 1837-1838

The Booker T. Washington Papers

Breaking Racial Barriers: African Americans in the Harmon Foundation Collection

Britain Abolition 200

Britain National Archives - Caribbean Histories Revealed

Britain National Maritime Museum - Britain and the Transatlantic Slave Trade

Brown v. Board of Education - Directory of Online Resources

Civil Unrest in Camilla Georgia 1868: Reconstruction, Republicanism, and Race

Desegregation of the Armed Forces: Project Whistle stop : Harry S. Truman Digital Archives

Documenting the American South

Dred Scott Case PBS

Emancipation Proclamation PBS

Emancipation Proclamation Time Line

Emerging from the Shadows, 1775-1819: The Black Governors

Excerpts from Slave Narratives

The Frederick Douglas Papers at the Library of Congress

Frederick Law Olmsted A journey in the Seaboard States (1856)

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909

Fugitive Slaves

The Geography of Slavery

Harriet, the Moses of Her People, by Sarah H. Bradford ...

Harriet Tubman (PBS)

"The Hypocrisy of American Slavery" by Frederick Douglass

Jefferson's blood: the slaves' story | PBS

John Brown's Holy War (PBS)

John H. White: Portrait of Black Chicago

The King Center

Lincoln Papers: The Emancipation Proclamation

The Making of African American Identity: Volume 1, 1500-1865

The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers Project

Military Resources: Blacks in the Military

National Civil Rights Museum

New York Public Library Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

North American Slave Narratives

Petitions to End Slavery

Pictures of African Americans During World War II/The National Archives

Plantation Community

Project Gutenberg - American Negro Slavery by Ulrich Bonnell Phillips

Remembering Jim Crow

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection

Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman

Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture

The Slave Family "If'n you wants to know what unhappiness means," states John Rudd, a former slave interviewed in the 1930s, "jess'n you stand on the Slave Block and hear the Auctioneer's voice selling you away from the folk you love."

Slave Route Project UNESCO

Slave Trade Archives Project UNESCO

Slavery and the Making of America PBS

Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860

The Terrible Transformation 1450-1750

Tulsa Race Riot - Oral History Accounts of the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 by Black Survivors

Tulsa Race Riot - A Report by the Oklahoma Commission to study the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921

Tulsa Reparations Coalition

The Underground Railroad: A Record of Facts, Authentic Narratives, Letters . . .

Voices from the Days of Slavery Former Slaves Tell Their Stories