Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States History - Primary Resources

United States History Primary Sources

 

 

The Ad*Access Project  - The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II

Advice and Consent: The Panama Canal Treaties

America's First Look into the Camera: Daguerreotype Portraits and Views, 1839 - 1864

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History

American Historical Association   

American Journeys Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement

American Memory Library of Congress Map Collections Online

American Originals: The Original Exhibit/The National Archives

American Shores: Maps of the Middle Atlantic Region to 1850

American State Papers/ Library of Congress The American State Papers, comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes, contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first volume of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.

American Variety Stage Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920

America 's Historical Documents/The National Archives 

An American Time Capsule: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera

Archive of Early American Images

Archives.gov  Subject Index /National Archives and Record Administration

The Authentic History Center: Primary Sources from American Popular Culture

Best of History Web Sites

Biography.Com

The British Library

Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, 1933-Present

By Popular Demand: Portraits of the Presidents and First Ladies 1789-Present

Center of Military History

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

The Constitutional Convention

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture

Cornell Library Digital Collections (MOA)

Democracy in America Alexis DeTocqueville

American Treasures of the Library of Congress

Archives Web: National Archives on the Web

Berryman Political Cartoon Collection Contains 100 cartoons from the early part of the 20th century

Center of Military History

Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection A collection of photographs covering the years 1938-1969

Designs for Democracy 200 Years of Drawings from the National Archives

Digital Classroom of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

Digital History

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture

Discovering Lewis & Clark

History and Politics Out loud History and Politics Out Loud is a diverse collection of audio -- speeches and private communications -- relating to U.S. history and politics.

Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920

Experiencing War: Stories from the Veterans History Project

The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

FBI-Freedom of Information Act

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project

Find Law: Supreme Court Opinions Provides full texts of Supreme Court decisions since 1893

Free Speech Movement Digital Archive

1492: An Ongoing Voyage

France in America

From Heaven to Home: 350 Years of Jewish Life in America

Gallup Poll Releases 

George Grantham Bain CollectionPhotographs range from 1860's to the late 1930's with most in the 1900's to mid 1920's.

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Historic American Sheet Music

Historic Audio Archives

Historical Election Results

Historical Maps of the United States - Perry- Castañeda Library
Map Collection

History Central

The History Cooperative  

H- Ncc National Coordinating Committee for the Promotion of History

History Matters: The U.S. [History] Survey Course

The History Net

The History Place

Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace

"I Do Solemnly Swear..."Presidential Inaugurations

Internet Modern History Sourcebook

Internet Public Library:  United States Resources

Inventing Entertainment: The Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Company

The Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music

Library and Archives Canada

Library of Western Fur Trade Historical Source Documents Diaries, Narratives, and Letters of the Mountain Men

Map History / History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject

Making of America (MOA) From the University of Michigan , "a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction."  The collection contains approximately 1,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with nineteenth-century imprints.

Map Collections: 1500–2003

Map History/History of Cartography: The Gateway to the Subject

McCord Museum of Canadian History

National Archives and Records Administration ( NARA ) A federal government agency, NARA is America 's national record keeper. It is the major repository of the government's historical records.

The National Archives of Great Britain

National Atlas of the United States of America, 1970 to present

National Council for History Education  

National Center for History in the Schools

National Security Archive

National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) A catalog of archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archive, and historical societies located throughout North America .

Naval Historical Center

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

Not by Bread Alone: America's Culinary Heritage

The OnLine Books Page This is a fascinating website with 16,000 listings that "facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the internet" including thousands of 19th century titles, and serial archives (magazines, journals, newspapers, and other periodicals).  It also provides links to other digitized archival book collections.

"The Pageant of America" Photograph Archive

Picturing America, 1497-1899: Prints, Maps, and Drawings bearing on the New World Discoveries and on the Development of the Territory that is now the United States

Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age Nineteenth- and Early-Twentieth-Century Perspectives

Organization of American Historians   

Our Documents

Oyez: U.S. Supreme Court Case Summaries, Oral Arguments & MultiMedia

Perry- Castañeda Library Map Collection: Historical Maps of the United States

Presidential Libraries

Presidents of the United States

Special Collections in the Library of Congress: Business, Economic, and Labor History

Stars and Stripes: U.S. Military Newspapers in the Library of Congress

United States in Stereo: In the Robert N. Dennis Collection of Stereoscopic Views

U.S. Military Academy

WhiteHouseTapes.org

WWW-VL: History: Maps