Skip to main content

United States History - Primary Resources: Pre-Colonial America -1607

Pre-Colonial America -1607

 

Act Against Jesuits and Seminarists (1585), 27 Elizabeth, Cap. 2

The Act Against Puritans (1593), 35 Elizabeth, Cap. 1

Alaska/Russia Meeting of Frontiers

"All Over the Land Nothing Else Was Spoken Of": Cabeza de Vaca Takes Up Residence as a Medicine Man in the Southwest, 1530s

The American Colonies, 1584-1688: A Selective Guide to Materials in the British Library

American History : A Documentary Record 1492 - Present - The Avalon Project at Yale Law School

American Indians and the Natural World

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection

American Journeys. Eyewitness Accounts of Early American Exploration and Settlement: A Digital Library and Learning Center

American Museum of Natural History

Amerigo Vespucci Letter to Pier Soderini, Gonfalonier of the Republic of Florence 1497

Ancestors in the Americas

Ancient Mesoamerican Civilization

Archiving Early America

A Brief and True Report of the New Found Land of Virginia Alaska's Digital Archives

British Columbia Archives

"Carried Thence for Trafficke of the West Indies Five Hundred Negroes": Job Hortop and the British Enter the Slave Trade, 1567

Charter of Acadia Granted by Henry IV of France to Pierre du Gast, Sieur de Monts; December 18, 1603

Christopher Columbus letter to the King and Queen of Spain (Undated, probably 1494)

The Columbus Navigation Homepage

Conquistadors

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive

The Constitution of the Iroquois Nations around 1500?

Cultural Landscapes Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress

Cultural Readings: Colonization and Print in the Americas

"A Devil to Tempt and a Corrupt Heart to Deceive," John Dane Battles Life's Temptations, ca. 1670s.

Exploration and Discovery - This category documents the discovery and exploration with both manuscripts and published maps. Many of these maps reflect the European Age of Discoveries, dating from the late 15th century to the 17th century when Europeans were concerned primarily with determining the outline of the continents as they explored and mapped the coastal areas and the major waterways.

The Dutch Arrive on Manhattan Island: An Indian Perspective

Early Printed Books Relating to the Caribbean, The British Library

Explorers of North America

Exploring the Early Americas

Exploring the Southwest: Don Diego de Vargas Colonization and Settlement (1585-1763)

First Nations Collections

First Nations Histories

The First Virginia Charter (April 10, 1606)

1492: An Ongoing Voyage

1544- Charta cosmographia.

1550 Tabula nouarum insularum

France in America

French and Indian War Maps

H-Amindian

Hans P. Kraus Collection: Spanish American Manuscripts

Henry Hudson

History and Literature of the Pacific Northwest

History of the Cherokee

A History of the Northwest Coast

Indian land Cessions in the United States, 1784-1894

Instructions for the Virginia Colony (1606)

Iroquois History

King Ferdinand Letter to the Taino/Arawak Indians around 1500

The Kraus Collection of Sir Francis Drake

La Nuova Francia [New France], 1556

The Letters Patents of King Henry the Seventh Granted unto Iohn Cabot and his Three Sonnes, Lewis, Sebastian and Sancius for the Discouerie of New and Unknowen Lands. - The Avalon Project at Yale Law School

Landing of Columbus, 1492

Library and Archives Canada

The Luso-Hispanic New World in Early Prints and Photographs

McCord Museum of Canadian History

The Meaning of America by Christopher Columbus

The National Archives of Great Britain

National Museum of the American Indian

Native Tech: Native American Technology and Art

The Oregon History Project

Pacific Northwest History

Passages: A Treasure Trove of North American Exploration (Library and Archives Canada)

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Historical Maps of the United States

Petition for a Charter of New England by the Northern Company of Adventurers; March 3,19/20

Pope Alexander VI The Papal bull Inter Caetera May 4, 1493

Privileges and Prerogatives Granted by Their Catholic Majesties to Christopher Columbus : 1492 - The Avalon Project at Yale Law School

Queen Elisabeth Charter to Sir Walter Raleigh March 25, 1584

Religion and the Founding of the American Republic

Richard Hakluyt Discourse of Western Planting (1584)

Samuel de Champlain Voyages (1604)

Sir Francis Drake

Sir Francis Drake: A Pictorial Biography by Hans P. Kraus

Smithsonian

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

Spain, the United States & the American Frontier: Historias Paralelas

The treaty of Tordesillas Between the King of Portugal and the King and Queen of Castile, Aragon June 7, 1494

Twenty Years with don Diego: The Vargas Project at the University of New Mexico

Vikings in the New World

Vikings: The North Atlantic Saga

"We Took Great Store of Codfish and Called it Cape Cod:" Bartholomew Gosnold Sails Along Northeastern North America, 1602

Woodland/Algonquian Tribes before 1500

"Your People Live Only Upon Cod": An Algonquian Response to European Claims of Cultural Superiority