Skip to main content

United States History - Primary Resources: African-American History

African-American History Primary Sources


Amistad at Sea

 

Aboard the Underground Railroad

Abolition - 13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

About.com African American History

An address to the Loyal Citizens and Congress of the United States of America adopted by a convention of Negroes held in Alexandria, Virginia, from August 2 to 5, 1865

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent

Africa Research Central

Africa South of the Sahara

African-American Benefit Societies 1787-1883

African-American Census Schedules Online

African-American Civil War Memorial

African American Digital Initiatives

The African-American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920 

African American Freedom Fighters Soldiers for Liberty

African-American Heritage: Our Shared History

African American History in the American West

African American Inventors

African-American Literature

African American Masters: Highlights from the SAAM Series (Art)

The African-American Migration Experience

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals

African American Odyssey

African-American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the A.P. Murray Collection 1818-1907

African-American Religion

African American Resources at the University of Virginia

African Americans on Currency

African-American Sheet Music, 1850-1920: Selected from the Collections of Brown University

African-American Studies Internet Resources

African-American Women On-line Archival Collections

African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century

African Americans and the Old West

African Americans in the Visual Arts: A Historical Perspective

Africana & Black History - New York Public Library Digital Gallery - Several thousand items ranging from historical documents and rare visual materials to contemporary photo-journalism, relating to the entirety of African American history from the 16th century to the present; selected in the course of developing the NYPL web site"African American Migration Experience."

Africana Studies New York University

Africans in America PBS

Afro-American Sources in Virginia: A Guide to Manuscripts

Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1718-1820

Always There: The African American Presence in American Quilts

The American Colonization Society, 1817

American Identities: African-American

American-Women's History: A Research Guide/African-American Women

Atlanta in the Civil Rights Movement

Atlanta Race Riot, 1910

The Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record

The American Slave Code in Theory and Practice: Its Distinctive Features Shown by Its Statutes, Judicial Decisions, and Illustrative Facts. Classics on American Slavery

American Slave Narratives: An On-Line Anthology

The Amistad Case

Amistad - Federal court records

Amistad: Race and the Boundaries of Freedom in Antebellum Maritime America

Amistad Trials 1839 - 1840

Argument of Roger S. Baldwin Before the Supreme Court in the Case of U.S. Appellants vs. Cinque, and Other, Africans of the Amistad: 1841

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record

African-Americans - Biography, Autobiography and History

Before Freedom Came: African American Life in the Antebellum South

Benjamin Drew Testimony of the Canadian Fugitives (ca. 1850)

Beyond Face Value: Depictions of Slavery in Confederate Currency

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

Black History: Chronological Topics

The Black Lost Cause. Colored Service in the Confederate Army

Black Panthers Click on title and then click on Library of Congress call number to access full text.

Black Pioneers of the Pacific Northwest

The Black Press - Colored American, selections from one year, 1837-1838

Body and Soul: The Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater

The Booker T. Washington Papers

Breaking Racial Barriers: African Americans in the Harmon Foundation Collection

Britain Abolition 200

Britain History Abolition of the Slave Trade 1807

Britain National Archives - Caribbean Histories Revealed

British National Archives Site: British Slavery Sources

Britain National Maritime Museum - Britain and the Transatlantic Slave Trade

Britain National Maritime Museum - The Slave Trade

British Transatlantic Slave Trade

Brown v. Board of Education - Directory of Online Resources

Captive Passage: The Transatlantic Slave Trade and the Making of the Americas

Charlotte Hawkins Brown Memorial - By the North Carolina Division of Archives and History Online Texts of documents by and about her.  Includes primary sources about the institute and the history of blacks in the South.   

The Church in the Southern Black Community, 1780-1925

Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive

Civil Unrest in Camilla Georgia 1868: Reconstruction, Republicanism, and Race

Classics on American Slavery

The Confessions of Nat Turner

Connecticut's "Black Governors"

Contemporary Slavery & Antislavery Resources

Dance in America: Free to Dance

Desegregation of the Armed Forces: Project Whistle stop : Harry S. Truman Digital Archives

Detroit Riots 1967

Documenting the American South

Documents on Slavery

Dred Scott Case Collection

Dred Scott Case PBS

Drop Me of in Harlem

Electronic Text Center: African-American Resources

Emancipation Proclamation of January 1st 1863

Emancipation Proclamation PBS

Emancipation Proclamation Time Line

Emerging from the Shadows, 1775-1819: The Black Governors

Excerpts from Slave Narratives

Exploring Amistad at Mystic Seaport: Race and the Boundaries of Freedom in Antebellum Maritime America

First Person Narratives of the American South

For the Record Representations of the Wilmington Massacre of 1898

The Frederick Douglas Papers at the Library of Congress

Frederick Law Olmsted A journey in the Seaboard States (1856)

Freedmen and Southern Society Project

From Revolution to Reconstruction: Documents: Dred Scott-case

From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909

The Fugitive Slave Act, 1850

Fugitive Slaves

Gilder Lehrman Center Online Documents (slavery)

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition

Geographies of Family and Market: Virginia's Domestic Slave Trade in the Nineteenth Century

The Geography of Slavery

Guide to the Papers of African-American Artists

Harlem 1900-1940: An African American Community

Harriet, the Moses of Her People, by Sarah H. Bradford ...

Harriet Tubman (PBS)

Harriet Tubman's Letter to Lincoln

Historical Census Browser

Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights

Historical Text Archive: African -American History

History of Slavery in Connecticut, Steiner, Bernard C., 1893

A House Divided: America in the Age of Lincoln

"The Hypocrisy of American Slavery" by Frederick Douglass

Images of African Americans from the 19th Century

Internet Resources for Students of African-American History and Culture

Jefferson's blood: the slaves' story | PBS

John Brown: An Address by Frederick Douglass Speech by Frederick Douglass at the Library of Congress Web site is a tribute to John Brown, a radical abolitionist which Virginia authorities hung.

John Brown's Holy War (PBS)

John H. White: Portrait of Black Chicago

"A Journey to the Seaboard States" (1856)

The King Center

Lincoln Papers: The Emancipation Proclamation

The Making of African American Identity: Volume 1, 1500-1865

The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association Papers Project

Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project of Stanford University

Military Resources: Blacks in the Military

Montgomery Bus Boycott Home Page

Narrative of Sojourner Truth; a bondswoman of olden time, emancipated by the New York Legislature in the early part of the present century; with a history of her labors and correspondence drawn from her "Book of life."

National Civil Rights Museum

New York Public Library Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

The 1943 Detroit Race Riots

The Nineteenth Century in Print: The Making of America in Books and Periodicals

North American Slave Narratives

The opinions of the Supreme Court in the Dred Scott case

The Papers of African American Artists

Parliament and the British Slave Trade 1600-1807

Petitions to End Slavery

Pictures of African Americans During World War II/The National Archives

Plantation Community

Posters American Style

Project Gutenberg - American Negro Slavery by Ulrich Bonnell Phillips

The Impact of Martin Luther King Jr. "I Have a Dream"

The Impact of the Black Panthers

Remembering Jim Crow

Resources in Black Studies

The Roots Institute Homepage

Runaway Slave Advertisements from 18th-Century Virginia Newspapers

Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection

Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman

Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture

The Slave Family "If'n you wants to know what unhappiness means," states John Rudd, a former slave interviewed in the 1930s, "jess'n you stand on the Slave Block and hear the Auctioneer's voice selling you away from the folk you love."

Slave Route Project UNESCO

Slave-Studies.net. A Portal for Research & Education

The Slave Trade and Abolitionist Movement

Slave Trade Archives Project UNESCO

Slavery and the Making of America PBS

Slavery Guide: An Annotated List of the Most Valuable Online Resources on Slavery

Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860

The Springfield Race Riot of 1908

Tangled Roots

The Terrible Transformation 1450-1750

Tulsa Race Riot - Oral History Accounts of the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 by Black Survivors

Tulsa Race Riot - A Report by the Oklahoma Commission to study the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921

Tulsa Race Riot of 1921

Tulsa Reparations Coalition

UC Berkeley Library Social Activism Sound Recording Project: The Black Panther Party

Uncle Tom's Cabin & American Culture: A Multimedia Archive

The Underground Railroad: A Record of Facts, Authentic Narratives, Letters . . .

University of Detroit Mercy Black Abolitionist Archive

Unseen. Unforgotten.

U.S. Department of Labor Wirtz Labor Library

Virginia Genealogy: A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the University of Virginia

Voices of Civil Rights

Voices from the Days of Slavery Former Slaves Tell Their Stories

W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research